PDA

View Full Version : My "enter/return" key doesn't work; could you help me please?




pinkurple07
May 25, 2009, 12:06 PM
Well, I bought a new macbook last May12, 2009, and it was exciting to use a mac for the first time. At the first four days, my enter key works with text edit, google (instead clicking search I'd press enter key). After that, I updated my mac- then my enter key didn't work, it was Saturday I think. It worked when I restarted my mac. After that, my enter key works again- and I had no problem then. Then, Monday- my key doesn't work totally, I was so frustrated. It only worked when it asks for a password in start-up; after that- it won't work in text edit, internet, just like the incident on Saturday. My sticky and slow keys are turned off btw... And so I called to the apple center and they said that I would bring my mac. They said it was from the software update (if updating it is bad in the first place- why didn't they tell me, right). They refused to replace it- but when that mac hang-up they replaced it. So today, I got my mac replaced and I'm using it now^^. So, the software of this newer mac hasn't been updated yet and my "ENTER" key only works when asking for a password in start-up. Wow, really- I'm pissed off right now. I'm actually using my newer mac right now and I apologize if it's long, my enter key doesn't work... Please do help. I'm using the latest Aluminum Macbook 2Ghz...



old-wiz
May 25, 2009, 12:10 PM
have you tried an external keyboard?

aicul
May 25, 2009, 12:11 PM
Hi, I'm not sure this will help but it is an issue I had with my wife's mac.

My wife is real proud of her mac, so she went out and bought a protective sleeve for the keyboard (teflon and all that), result was that when I used her mac (after pleading of course), the teflon would somehow always keep the "CMD" key pressed with real curious results.

So, do you have a protective sleeve to the keyboard? If so try removing it!

pinkurple07
May 25, 2009, 12:22 PM
It doesn't have any accessories to just the spark cover...:(

pinkurple07
May 26, 2009, 10:52 AM
(Now, my mac is fixed- yipee! XD) When they migrated my files, the error from my first mac was also transferred so it did the same thing. They have to Clean install my mac again and they said that they would advice me not to transfer those files again when they re-installed OS X on this laptop; since there were no important files to be saved 'coz it's new- I didn't put much files btw. It definitely worked! I'm enjoying this laptop now so catch ya later guys!
:D:cool::p;):)



Sincerely yours,
Mac user