PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac Upgrade?




the villain
May 26, 2009, 03:49 AM
So i have read about ever forum post and reply about upgrading a power mac g5 processor. I know its not possible how ever my question is, if you upgrade the logic board then would you be able to upgrade the processor too?

the reason I am asking is be cause a co-worker of mine has a Power Mac with a blown logic board. Apple wants over a $1,000 to replace it but for that price I have found a faster logic board and faster processors.



300D
May 26, 2009, 03:57 AM
A case is a case. You can put whatever logicboard and CPU combo will fit. If you don't have a thermal calibration CD then changing CPUs, or even switching sockets, will make all the fans stay at full speed.

The truth is, its far cheaper to buy a good G5 in the speed you want from the start.

zmttoxics
May 26, 2009, 09:00 AM
You would need to get the matching logic board for this to work. Changing anything in the G5 requires "factory" recalibration of the system sensors / fans. Only Apple techs had these CDs to do so.