PDA

View Full Version : Iraqi prisoner scandal

JesseJames
May 6, 2004, 12:52 PM
Well, I think this is the first thread to discuss this. I still can't believe those photos of the naked dogpiled Iraqi prisoners.
What the hec were those soldiers thinking? Just goes to reinforce some social theories I have of human beings.
As a former soldier myself, I am appalled and aghast at this behavior from "The Finest Army in the World". This is definitely a black mark in the history of the U.S. Army.
I'm pretty sure the brass is going to come down hard on the people that were responsible for this. I saw the parade of CentCom brass making their apologies to the press corps and the Iraqi people. I believe that the General that was in charge of the prison was at least fired. I'm not sure if she was regular Army or Reserve. If she was Reserve I wonder what she did in her civilian life.
I'm beating around the bush here but she strikes me as one of those "corporate climbers" that I've seen when I was in the Army. They are smart but willing to do almost anything to get to the next paygrade. In essence, a ********* artist.
The troops resented the hell out of officers and noncoms like that. The frightening thing is, that they do get promoted. :rolleyes:

dragula53
May 6, 2004, 01:25 PM
these kids are thrown into this position of responsibility, they can't even balance their own checkbook, much less take care of another human being in a respectful manner.

I am not defending the soldiers and their extremely stupid actions that are going to have far-reaching ramifications.

Occupying any place with an army isn't ever pretty.

Comparing pictures of naked iraqis to any kind of human rights violation is a gross exaggeration.

But that's my .02.

moo

MongoTheGeek
May 6, 2004, 01:30 PM