PDA

View Full Version : How can i tell if my processor is 64-bit




suede1976
Jun 9, 2009, 06:24 PM
i'm sure that's a lame question but with snow leopard coming out, i was wondering if my machine will be able to take advantage of it.

my mac pro has Dual-Core Intel Xeon 2.66

thanks!



TwinCities Dan
Jun 9, 2009, 06:26 PM
I believe they said it would work on ALL intel macs, no? :confused:

grue
Jun 9, 2009, 06:27 PM
The only machines not using 64bit processors are the Core Solo and Core Duo machines. Any Xeon or Core 2 Duo machine will be 64bit

Infrared
Jun 9, 2009, 10:00 PM
i'm sure that's a lame question but with snow leopard coming out, i was wondering if my machine will be able to take advantage of it.

my mac pro has Dual-Core Intel Xeon 2.66

thanks!

Definitely is 64-bit. Even says it on the box :)

TwinCities Dan
Jun 9, 2009, 10:02 PM
The only machines not using 64bit processors are the Core Solo and Core Duo machines. Any Xeon or Core 2 Duo machine will be 64bit

So, it will run on a Core Duo but it won't use all the grand-central goodness? Right? :confused:

macuserx86
Jun 9, 2009, 10:04 PM
So, it will run on a Core Duo but it won't use all the grand-central goodness? Right? :confused:

It won't use 64 bit, but it should be able to implement GCD, since it's part of the core OS.

Tesselator
Jun 9, 2009, 10:20 PM
Yep! Your procs are the X5150 and 64Bit!
http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=27218