PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook 1.5 Ghz's True Speed


iEric
May 15, 2004, 11:24 AM
Has anyone tried that true speed thingy command on their Powerbook G4. If you can, please try it and post it here. I am very interested.

atari1356
May 16, 2004, 08:09 AM
Has anyone tried that true speed thingy command on their Powerbook G4. If you can, please try it and post it here. I am very interested.

What's the true speed thingy command? I'd run it if I knew what it was. :D

Ozi
May 16, 2004, 08:22 AM
LOL!

is it at all like XBench? http://xbench.com/

virividox
May 16, 2004, 09:20 AM
what type of benchmark are u looking for any apps in particular you want to test

BillClinton
May 16, 2004, 09:37 AM
I think he talking about that UNIX command that tells you the clock speed of t he processor.

iEric
May 16, 2004, 10:10 AM
Thank you BillClinton..I was talking about that....
I was wondering if someone that had the new 1.5 Ghz 17" PB w/ either 64 MB or 128 Video Ram could test it out. And please tell me how much ram you have..to see if that matters too.

Cause I read someone on the board had a 1.0 ghz g4 but it only read it at 550 mhz.

invaLPsion
May 16, 2004, 10:29 AM
Thank you BillClinton..I was talking about that....
I was wondering if someone that had the new 1.5 Ghz 17" PB w/ either 64 MB or 128 Video Ram could test it out. And please tell me how much ram you have..to see if that matters too.

Cause I read someone on the board had a 1.0 ghz g4 but it only read it at 550 mhz.

I have the exact same system you have but with 1 gig of ram. I scored 135 on xBench. This thing purrs.... :D

crazzyeddie
May 16, 2004, 10:36 AM
Don't be worried about the command for finding out processor speed. The inconsistency only exists on 867mhz and 1Ghz Titanium Powerbooks. The only problem from this is that readout, the processor is actually running at 1ghz.

cjc343
May 16, 2004, 12:15 PM
Thank you BillClinton..I was talking about that....
I was wondering if someone that had the new 1.5 Ghz 17" PB w/ either 64 MB or 128 Video Ram could test it out. And please tell me how much ram you have..to see if that matters too.

Cause I read someone on the board had a 1.0 ghz g4 but it only read it at 550 mhz.


That would be because the person has his/her energy saver prefs set to "reduced" this causes the PB to run at half speed... saves battery life....

JOD8FY
May 16, 2004, 12:45 PM
That would be because the person has his/her energy saver prefs set to "reduced" this causes the PB to run at half speed... saves battery life....

Good. I was getting worried for a second - I have a 1Ghz PB! :o

JOD8FY

titaniumducky
May 16, 2004, 12:50 PM
what type of benchmark are u looking for any apps in particular you want to test

It's a unix command which measures the "true frequency" of the processor. Processors are overclocked to a stable point. The "true frequency" is the speed prior to overclocking. For example, my 15" TiBook (1 GHz)'s "true frequency" is 667 MHz.

One option is to download "onyx." It's free and will automatically check.

The unix command you can run in Terminal is:

sysctl hw.cpufrequency

dbirider
May 16, 2004, 01:12 PM
The unix command you can run in Terminal is:

sysctl hw.cpufrequency

I did that and it said 1499999994. and on reduced speed it says.... the same exact thing.

Im using a 17" powerbook with 128vr and 1.5 gigs of ram

csubear
May 16, 2004, 01:17 PM
I've ran the skidmarksGT program (installed with dev tool, and chud) and the benchs your cpu against a 1.0 Ghz G4

on auto my pb 12" 1.33 gets

int: 1.0
float: 1.33
vec: 1.33


on high

int: 1.33
float: 1.33
vec: 1.33

on low

int: .667
float: .667
vec: .667

thatwendigo
May 16, 2004, 03:23 PM
hw.cpufrequency: 700000000

Looks exactly right on mine, since my processor was sold as a 700mhz part. Now, if only I was gutsy enough to crack this baby open and solder the jumpers to take it up around 1.3ghz... :cool:

kaylee
May 16, 2004, 05:07 PM
mine says: 1066666664 on reduced (rounded off is 1.07ghz which "about this mac" says my 12in ibook is). Same result for highest.