PDA

View Full Version : Amount of RAM for VPC 7


JOD8FY
May 15, 2004, 03:03 PM
Hello all,

I've been reading all this news about the upcoming VPC 7 and how it's supposed to have native graphics support. That got me very excited, because I have a bunch of PC games that I've been longing to play on my Mac for a while. Up until now, I was thinking of getting another 512MB stick to put into my 12" Rev. B PB to add up to 768MB. (My sig says I already have that, it's anticipating the future :) ) Now I'm thinking I should go with a 1 GB stick instead. I have a 200GB 7200 RPM External HD with which I will use to run VPC and Final Cut Express.

So which one - 512MB stick or 1GB stick? :confused:

Thanks a lot,
JOD8FY

7on
May 15, 2004, 04:47 PM
be a man, go for the 1GB!!!

virividox
May 15, 2004, 05:26 PM
if u can afford it get the higher ram...dunno about vpc tho, but ram ram ram ram ram ram ram ram RAMMMMM

JOD8FY
May 15, 2004, 06:46 PM
be a man, go for the 1GB!!!

LOL, that's (a variation of) what I'd figured you'd say... :rolleyes:

Does anyone know where to get a good quality 1GB stick for a good price? I checked Crucial already and theirs is over $400. I might have to bite the bullet, but does anyone have any advice?

Thanks a lot,
JOD8FY

JOD8FY
May 15, 2004, 07:29 PM
does anyone have any advice?

Anybody, anybody?

GUSTO
May 15, 2004, 08:43 PM
Anybody, anybody?

You will find that there is a BIG! jump from a 512Mb stick to a 1Gb (thinking that 1Gb should cost about the same as two 512Mb stick) they will drop in price but i dont think they will any time soon. Also with the coming of DDR2, DDR may drop in price?

leftbanke7
May 15, 2004, 09:27 PM
go to ramseeker.com and see who has the best deal on RAM.