PDA

View Full Version : Close NSAlert after some time using Timer




Tejashree
Jun 15, 2009, 04:20 AM
Hi,
I want to close a alert Window (NSAlert) after specific period of time if user
does not click on any of the buttons.
Is there a way to set up a NSTimer to close the Alert Panel after 10 secs.

I am doing following thing and its working. But I know this wrong way to do this.
..........................................
NSAlert *alert = [[[NSAlert alloc] init] autorelease];
[alert addButtonWithTitle: @"OK"];
[alert setMessageText: @"Attention!!! This a critical Alert."];
[alert setAlertStyle: NSInformationalAlertStyle];

NSTimer *myTimer = [NSTimer timerWithTimeInterval: 5
target:self
selector: @selector(killWindow:)
userInfo:nil
repeats:NO];

[[NSRunLoop currentRunLoop] addTimer:myTimer forMode:NSModalPanelRunLoopMode];

int choice = 0;
choice = [alert runModal];
if(choice != 0)
[myTimer invalidate];
..........................................
-(void) killWindow:(NSTimer *) theTimer
{
NSLog(@"killWindow");
[[alert window] close];
}
..........................................


Can anyone please suggest the best way to do this.

Thanks,
Tejashree.



HiRez
Jun 15, 2009, 11:22 AM
Why do say you know it's wrong? You said it works, right? Only thing I can see is you set of for 5 seconds when you said you wanted 10.

mathcolo
Jun 16, 2009, 01:19 AM
Yeah, if it's working for you then I wouldn't bother changing it. Despite that, that's how I'd do it; an NSTimer controlling NSAlert.

Sometimes you have to just let code be code :D

ruchi830
Mar 22, 2013, 12:27 PM
I used this same code, but when I try to close with a timer, the rest of my app freezes. Also, if I try to do NSApp.stopModal to stop running Modal, the app crashes. Any ideas on the correct way to do this?

gnasher729
Mar 22, 2013, 02:23 PM
I'd try abortModal instead of stopModal, that's what the documentation says. And your memory management seems dubious. [autorelease] should release the alert before the next round of the run loop, so by the time the timer fires, the alert should be gone. What does the static analyzer think of your code?