PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Sonnet 1.2ghz in a G4 DA 466

GlassOgnion
May 19, 2004, 09:04 AM
Hi,

Tried to install the Sonnet 1.2ghz G4 upgrade in my DA 466 but the computer freeze after 10 or 15 minutes of operation. First time I had a KP and second time it was a freeze. The 466 heatsink is installed on the Sonnet processor. Could be a heat issue. Do I have to replace the heatsink or maybe install a fan on it ? I'd like to have an advice from someone who has done the same upgrade in a DA 466.

Thanks,

Mario

Celeron
May 19, 2004, 06:22 PM
Seeing as no one else replied, I figured I'd make a suggestion. I haven't performed the upgrade you speak of, but I've been doing PC upgrades for many years now.

What you did was essentially increase your CPU speed 3 fold by going from 466mhz to 1200mhz. From your post it seems you used the heatsink that was made for the 466, which as you mentioned doesn't even have a fan. I'm 99% certain this is your problem. At the very least, you need to put a fan on your new CPU. Even then, its unlikely that its going to be stable and work properly.

Ideally, you need to get a new heatsink that supports a 1.2gig CPU. The heatsink in your machine is probably not capable of getting rid of the heat generated by an 800mhz CPU, let alone a 1200mhz CPU.

Also, did you put any thermal paste between the heatsink and the CPU? If there was any pasty white material on the heatsink from the old CPU, you should remove that and apply a new layer. You can get a small tube of thermal paste from Radio Shack for $1.25.

GlassOgnion
May 19, 2004, 08:37 PM