PDA

View Full Version : Help: Require Reasons for choosing OS X

Enigma
May 20, 2004, 06:36 AM
First of all, thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me. This is my first post in MacRumors, so I apologise that it's a request for help, and sorry if this is the wrong forum for it.

I am doing a PhD at the moment here in the UK, and I have just got a research contract from a large utility company here in the UK to develop a system for storing a large quantity of data. I can't go in to details of the system or company exactly for confidentiality reasons, but it will involve the instantiation of potentially hundreds of thousands of Java objects and access to these objects for interrogation/modification concurrently from multiple users. It will run as a WebApp, using Apache, Tomcat etc. I know roughly how it's going to be done, so that's not the problem.

As part of this reasearch contract, I've got an IT budget of close to 3k, which with the Apple HE discount is enough for a nice Dual G5 desktop, OSX Server (10-client version for development), about 2 GB of RAM and a nice 20" LCD to go along with it all. The problem is, my academic supervisor isn't the most clued up when it comes to IT purchases, and is very sceptical of anything other than Windows based PCs (generally Dells).

I need some arguments to help convince him that a Powermac is justified, because I can see him arguing that I should get a Dell desktop with a 15" LCD, maybe he'll push to 1Gb of RAM, and then spend the rest on some awful Dell laptop for me, and 5 base model Dells for other people in our research group. I'm planning to buy one of the new 15" Powerbooks in the next month or two for myself, so I've no interest in a laptop from the department as well.

My current arguments are:

1. This will be an internet-facing web server, and OSX and Apache are more secure than a Windows IIS (or even Apache) based machine