PDA

View Full Version : 1080p out snow Leopard




Danger722
Jun 18, 2009, 03:45 PM
Does anyone know if Snow Leopard will support 1080p out so I can use my samsung 52in lcd tv as a computer monitor. When I hook it up now it doesn't fill the tv screen correctly and I can't figure out a way to get it to work without the image being very stretched or 3:2... I'm looking to make it a full screen resolution and clear like my 2007 macbook pro screen.. just BIGGER :) Is there a way in the settings to do this now or do I have to wait for snow leopard.. I've fiddled with the tv output settings but can't seem to get it to work... Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!



geoffreak
Jun 18, 2009, 03:47 PM
You need an DVI -> HDMI or a mDP -> HDMI adapter. These retail for as low as about $7 + shipping. They work just fine under Leopard.

slpdLoad
Jun 18, 2009, 03:48 PM
I'm interested in this too. Leopard had some problems with this for some people, it kinda worked up to 10.5.6, and broke 1080p output again with 10.5.7. Check the Apple Discussion forums for information on that (as well as remedies for your current issue).

I'm assuming this will have been addressed with SL.

geoffreak
Jun 18, 2009, 03:54 PM
I have zero problems with 1080p output on my Mac Mini and 10.5.7. I fail to see what the problem is that people are having.

rhett7660
Jun 18, 2009, 03:56 PM
Can you specify what problems they were having????

izibo
Jun 18, 2009, 04:14 PM
I have zero problems with 1080p output on my Mac Mini and 10.5.7. I fail to see what the problem is that people are having.

I've done it with a Mac Pro (at work) as well as both an older white MacBook and a new 13" MacBook Pro. No problems going to 50" LCDs at 1080p.

eddietr
Jun 18, 2009, 04:21 PM
Just to add to that, I've used 1080p many times on my MBP on 10.5.7 and 10.6 with no issues at all.

bmb012
Jun 18, 2009, 07:29 PM
Either get an adaptor for HDMI (which won't hold video, and I don't think it passes along the encryption, not sure though), or see if your TV has a VGA plug on the back of it. I've used both, and VGA runs much better, there's a ton of overscan using HDMI, but if you're just watching video, that's not as big a deal.

But if you're looking into using the TV as a monitor, definitely look into VGA...

Jethryn Freyman
Jun 18, 2009, 08:27 PM
It works fine.

You need the right video adapter.

crazzyeddie
Jun 18, 2009, 10:00 PM
Either get an adaptor for HDMI (which won't hold video, and I don't think it passes along the encryption, not sure though), or see if your TV has a VGA plug on the back of it. I've used both, and VGA runs much better, there's a ton of overscan using HDMI, but if you're just watching video, that's not as big a deal.

But if you're looking into using the TV as a monitor, definitely look into VGA...

HDMI is superior to VGA in every way and will definitely "hold video" and carries HDCP over the connection.

Your TV should have a setting for the Overscan, or if it doesn't, OS X does.

betomax
Jun 18, 2009, 10:15 PM
I have been able to output 1080p to my 1080p native LCD HDTV from my mbp since Tiger. Never have had a problem.

jaw04005
Jun 18, 2009, 10:17 PM
A simple overscan setting is not sufficient. OS X could use some overscan correction tools like Plex has built in.

Also, it would be nice if OS X could output simply 720p, 1080i, 1080p, etc like Windows Media Center. WMC tricks the TV into thinking it's dealing with just a regular HDMI source.

For those of us with HDTVs that have issues with computer input over HDMI, it would make things a heck of a lot easier than dealing with DisplayConfigX or SwitchResX.

While Apple is at it, support audio over HDMI too.

dernhelm
Jun 19, 2009, 09:41 AM
A simple overscan setting is not sufficient. OS X could use some overscan correction tools like Plex has built in.

Also, it would be nice if OS X could output simply 720p, 1080i, 1080p, etc like Windows Media Center. WMC tricks the TV into thinking it's dealing with just a regular HDMI source.

For those of us with HDTVs that have issues with computer input over HDMI, it would make things a heck of a lot easier than dealing with DisplayConfigX or SwitchResX.

While Apple is at it, support audio over HDMI too.

1. Apple TV does output HDMI and audio over HDMI.
2. AppleTV runs OS/X

ergo: The problem is NOT in OS/X.

jaw04005
Jun 19, 2009, 11:28 AM
1. Apple TV does output HDMI and audio over HDMI.
2. AppleTV runs OS/X

ergo: The problem is NOT in OS/X.

Yes, it is. It's a combination of both hardware and software that's missing. Apple's version of DisplayPort does not support audio. You can't use a DisplayPort to HDMI cable and get audio along with it. Even though the DisplayPort standard supports audio.

Who's fault is it? We don't know, but Apple should get on it. They're the ones that decided to support DisplayPort. Many PC notebooks support HDMI with audio. It's very easy on those notebooks to connect to an HDTV. It makes watching services like Hulu or Netflix easy.

http://lowendmac.com/ed/fox/09ff/displayport-audio.html

And for my other point, the Apple TV already supports the feature.

The Apple TV displays 480p, 720p, 1080i and 1080p as a TV signal, yet Mac OS X does not. Clearly, they've already bothered to develop the settings to prevent scanning issues. Since all the Apple TV is low-power 10.4 Tiger box with HDMI. Why not put its output settings in Snow Leopard?

geoffreak
Jun 19, 2009, 01:00 PM
Most AV switchers aren't capable of decoding audio sent via HDMI, so an external fiber optic digital connection must be used anyways. PC notebooks don't offer such a feature, so they are forced to use analog stereo audio.

Just to let you know, DVI can send digital audio as well, yet not a single computer has bothered to implement this.

Under the specification of display port, you can send audio. Apple's mini display port is just a change in form factor. The limitation comes from the hardware and software of the graphics chip not allowing digital transmission of audio. The ATV doesn't offer a standard graphics chip and likely uses a graphics chip used in other types of set top boxes. Such a chip would be terrible for gaming purposes.

The problem most people have is the fact that the TV isn't correctly informing the computer which signals it can display. This isn't the computer's fault, but the television's. My television is over two years old and has no troubles informing my MBP of the exact settings.

Mac OS does in fact already offer the resolutions used in 480p, 720p, 1080i and 1080p. If your TV can handle the resolutions and sends the information properly to any devices connected, you shouldn't have any problems connecting to any computer, regardless of OS.

jazzician
Jun 19, 2009, 01:20 PM
Does anyone know if Snow Leopard will support 1080p out so I can use my samsung 52in lcd tv as a computer monitor. When I hook it up now it doesn't fill the tv screen correctly and I can't figure out a way to get it to work without the image being very stretched or 3:2... I'm looking to make it a full screen resolution and clear like my 2007 macbook pro screen.. just BIGGER :) Is there a way in the settings to do this now or do I have to wait for snow leopard.. I've fiddled with the tv output settings but can't seem to get it to work... Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!

With respect to getting full screen, I have a MBP 2.4 and going video out to HDMI to my Sharp flatscreen and there was a video setting on the Sharp video settings (when I plugged the computer in) to a "Dot to Dot" setting that filled the screen. Otherwise, I couldn't use the whole screen. I don't know if Samsung is similar but maybe that will help.

geoffreak
Jun 19, 2009, 01:23 PM
jazzician, read the second post in this thread. Don't bother posting in a thread if you are only reading the first post.

McGiord
Jun 19, 2009, 01:36 PM
some TVs has a setting that zooms in/out alittle bit the image to resize the screen and avoid satellite or cable black bars...
Also othet TVs, like the Sonys have a wide-zoom button on the remote/menu to switch from 4:3 to 16:9, zoom and wide zoom, probably your Tv is forcing that signal for that particual HDMI input that you are using.

McGiord
Jun 19, 2009, 01:43 PM
What are the settings that you see on OS X Display settings, do you have the mirror function active or you are using the TV as a 2nd display?
On your System Preferences for Display: Click on the gather windows button and you will have 2 windows, one to control the TV resolution and other to control the Mac resolution, and refresh rate.
Also you can activate the menu to be displayed and you can select that directly from the menu.
In my case for a Sony TV I have, to display in 1080p, I remember that I had to select it from the menu to made it work.
Also if your TV's firmware can be updated, check on the TV manufacturer website and there might be way that you can update it.
My Sony TV has an USB port for service, and Sony sent me an USB flash drive to update it, after I request it on their support website. This wasn't needed to make it work on 1080p, it just another idea.

ZedRuhlen
Jun 19, 2009, 02:30 PM
Simple solution on the Samsung.

Go to the video settings for the HDMI port you are plugged into (should be 1 to use synced audio with RCA plugs).

Choose Direct Scan.

Viola.