PDA

View Full Version : Camcorder help - analog/digital converter


Espnetboy3
May 21, 2004, 03:30 PM
i dont mean to but in our ur thread but i have a canon camcorder question right now as i was lookin at ur post. i have a hi8mm canon ES8200v , it has these effects on it and an lcd but is there anyway i can get the footage i shoot onto my computer? the only hookups i have is the av output to the vcr, any help would be great i dont know much about this stuff yet , thanx

evil_santa
May 21, 2004, 05:48 PM
i dont mean to but in our ur thread but i have a canon camcorder question right now as i was lookin at ur post. i have a hi8mm canon ES8200v , it has these effects on it and an lcd but is there anyway i can get the footage i shoot onto my computer? the only hookups i have is the av output to the vcr, any help would be great i dont know much about this stuff yet , thanx

You need a DV Bridge, it converts video& audio to DV, formac make one (http://www.formac.com/p_bin/?cid=solutions_converters_studiodv) or if you have a g4 tower you can use a video card, see previous post (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=72662) . If you use the video card it will capture as a photo jpeg .mov. you would have to import this into imove or FCE. you would also have to have some capture software. imove / FCE only work with DV.

Felix_the_Mac
May 22, 2004, 03:28 PM
I am thinking of getting a Belkin USB Video Bus II for Mac

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=28199&_LOC=UK

I think that maybe what you need.

hvfsl
May 22, 2004, 05:10 PM
I am thinking of getting a Belkin USB Video Bus II for Mac

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=28199&_LOC=UK

I think that maybe what you need.

The quality isnt the best (I got it from ebuyer too :D )

The video quality is OK, it just only seems to capture at something like 20fps instead of the normal 25 or 30. Plus it only works in Mac OS 9 (last time I checked in 2003). The sound quality is pretty bad, you really need to plug your camcorder's sound directly into your Mac's sound-in, if you use that.

I would recommend getting a firewire capture device. In the end I just decided to get a DV camera that had analogue in/out.

dvdh
May 22, 2004, 11:05 PM
This one I have used a number of times. Works fairly well and should capture your hi8 quite well. It supports s-video, RCA (sound and video), and firewire wire in and has the same for outputs. The connection between the computer and converter is firewire, and it will definitely outperform the USB based boxes.

Use on a Mac requires no software installation (you can capture with iMovie)

Price runs around $200 USD.