PDA

View Full Version : Cringely: Apple to Stop Making Hardware?

rosalindavenue
May 23, 2004, 07:46 PM
Robert Cringely says that in light of the new ipod division, if Apple can't maintain its margins it may first eliminate all non-apple resellers, then stop making Mac hardware altogether. Very interesting.

http://www.pbs.org/cringely/pulpit/pulpit20040520.html

(Note: This is a May 20 article I'm posting on the 23rd-- I searched for and could not find a thread on it; apologies if this has already been addressed).

grapes911
May 23, 2004, 08:02 PM
I'm not an expert, but I just can't agree. Take microsoft, they make almost all their money on software. They put have registry keys and activations. So does norton products and many others.

Apple is the opposite. They make most of their money on software and hardware. I say this, because os x can be installed illegal so very easy. I think apple figures, no one buys mac just for the software, they buy it for the whole package so lets will make money on the hardware.

saabmp3
May 23, 2004, 08:02 PM
The article's got some good points to it, but I don't see apple killing the hardware line anytime soon. All this work they've done with IBM for the G5, the powerbooks and iBooks which are called teh best laptops produced, the huge profit margins they have? I don't think Apple's going to kill this off. They don't make anywhere near as much on the OS compared to what they do on the hardware. Anyways, are they going to run the OS on hardware only made pre 2004? Switch to x86?

BEN

yoda13
May 23, 2004, 08:22 PM
I don't see that happening. Apple is one of the few profitable computer companies out there at the moment. I know that the iPod is partially responsible for that, but not only responsible for it. And they have a boatload of cash on hand.

IndyGopher
May 23, 2004, 08:52 PM