PDA

View Full Version : RAM between a eMac and a G3?


Albone
May 24, 2004, 12:35 PM
I have an emac with 2 256MB SDRAM DDR333 of RAM. I'm going to buy a 512 stick of RAM and I would like to give my buddy with a blue G3 a 256 stick of RAM.

Basically (I think) my emac needs PC133 and his computer uses PC100. Will his G3 function properly with a PC 133 256MB SDRAM? Any potential blowouts down the road?

Thanks

mkaake
May 24, 2004, 01:05 PM
I have an emac with 2 256MB SDRAM DDR333 of RAM. I'm going to buy a 512 stick of RAM and I would like to give my buddy with a blue G3 a 256 stick of RAM.

Basically (I think) my emac needs PC133 and his computer uses PC100. Will his G3 function properly with a PC 133 256MB SDRAM? Any potential blowouts down the road?

Thanks

umm, don't know what blue g3 would need ddr... double check that. the blue and white g3 *should* use pc133, the same as your emac. so assuming you're actually talking about said mac, it's all good.

matt

p.s. your post was somewhat confusing. in the beginning you say you have ddr333, then you say you think it uses pc133...

just go ahead and tell us how fast the emac is (1.25 ghz or other)

Albone
May 24, 2004, 02:13 PM
I have a 1.25Ghz emac. Sorry about that, I'm at work and I went to the apple store to get the specs my machine has. I bought my emac last August, so obviously the apple store has beefed it up, and I copied the wrong information.

When I checked my computer specs at home, it read that I have PC133 RAM, and when I checked out the apple support page, it read that blue G3's should have PC 100

I, um, didn't know that DDR333 was stating that the RAM stick was different from PC133. Sorry.

Thanks for baring with me.

mkaake
May 24, 2004, 05:23 PM
I have a 1.25Ghz emac. Sorry about that, I'm at work and I went to the apple store to get the specs my machine has. I bought my emac last August, so obviously the apple store has beefed it up, and I copied the wrong information.

When I checked my computer specs at home, it read that I have PC133 RAM, and when I checked out the apple support page, it read that blue G3's should have PC 100

I, um, didn't know that DDR333 was stating that the RAM stick was different from PC133. Sorry.

Thanks for baring with me.

it's okay ;)

anyhew, yeah, the ram should work just fine in the blue and white...

good luck!

matt

FuzzyBallz
May 24, 2004, 05:27 PM
When in doubt, use crucial.com's memory selector. Just so you know, macs are really picky about RAM. It might not work if it's not the same spec.

Capt Underpants
May 24, 2004, 05:40 PM
Yes, macs are quite picky about RAM. That being said, PC133 RAM should be slowed down to run in PC100 accepting computers. If it doesn't work, then o well. If it does, then yay. It doesn't hurt to try.

Sun Baked
May 24, 2004, 05:45 PM
Actually you probably shouldn't use anything slower than PC133 in any 100/133MHz FSB Mac.

The PC100 Macs needed really tight spec RAM, and Apple got around the RAM problem users were having by just saying the 100MHz FSB computers need PC133 memory.

thehuncamunca
May 24, 2004, 08:26 PM
DDR memory WILL NOT work in a blue G3

I have a 1.25Ghz emac. Sorry about that, I'm at work and I went to the apple store to get the specs my machine has. I bought my emac last August, so obviously the apple store has beefed it up, and I copied the wrong information.

When I checked my computer specs at home, it read that I have PC133 RAM, and when I checked out the apple support page, it read that blue G3's should have PC 100

I, um, didn't know that DDR333 was stating that the RAM stick was different from PC133. Sorry.

Thanks for baring with me.

Capt Underpants
May 24, 2004, 08:29 PM
DDR memory WILL NOT work in a blue G3

But PC133 should, which is what he said his eMac has.

mkaake
May 24, 2004, 08:46 PM
the 133 will work fine.

in a recent chat w/some of the friendly folks over at otherworldcomputing, i found out that pc100 really doesn't exist anymore... new ram sold as pc100 is really pc133 with a different sticky label on it ;) turns out it's cheaper to make the 133, and it's supposed to work anywhere pc133 does...

have fun giving the gift of a faster mac!

matt

solvs
May 24, 2004, 08:59 PM
If you had a 1 GHz or lower eMac, it would have PC133, which would work with PC100 just like DDR 333 can work as 266 or 200. If you have one of the most recent eMacs though, which the 1.25 would be, it will be DDR 333, which will not work. They wouldn't fit.

Sun Baked
May 24, 2004, 09:19 PM
Lot's of things don't Add up...

Machines being sold last August 2003 were 800/1000MHz SDR machine -- the October update kept speeds the same and killed OS 9 bootability.

Machines released 4/2004 were DDR-based with a new chipset @ 1.25GHz.

mkaake
May 25, 2004, 09:05 AM
things add up just fine, and this was resolved by like post #4 - he has the older 1ghz emac w/pc133 ram. he mis-spoke, because he originally looked on apple.com to get the specs of his machine, w/o initially realizing that they had been updated since the time he had bought his machine.

the ram will work just fine in the blue and white... that's all there is to it...


matt

Albone
May 26, 2004, 11:42 AM
Thanks everyone for all of your help. Now, I just have to find a good deal on a 512mb of RAM...