Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jungledmnc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2009
Hey folks,
I have probably a very simple problem, but since I'm a more like Win32/Linux programmer, I found Mac OS X API so so so complicated and I even couldn't find any useful docs or samples.

So I need to create a simple window without title (since I have my own) and be able to paint in it (only bitmaps, since all rendering is customized), handle all necessary events, such as mouse/keyboard... custom GUI.

I was able to create a window, handle mouse events. But I'm still unable to paint into the window!!! What a basic task?? There are many events such kWindowDrawFrame, kControlDraw etc. I don't know what is the difference, but what I want is the most simple approach:

1) OS needs to redraw part of the window -> sends an event or something -> I'll paint it

2) When I need to redraw part of the window (e.g. user clicks on a widget), I need to tell the OS to "invalidate" it and let me redraw.

Can you please point me somewhere?
Thanks in advance!

Eraserhead

macrumors G4
Nov 3, 2005
UK
Carbon has basically been depreciated as it doesn't (and will never) have a 64 bit version. You should be using Cocoa going forward.

The documentation does include Cocoa sample code, though to start off you're probably better off with a book like Aaron Hillegass's one.

jungledmnc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2009
But Cocoa is for Objective-C only, right? I need "C++".
Really, if Apple is going to stop releasing development applications in "C++" for 64-bit, they will have a really big trouble, since one of the final applications for Macs are audio and graphics. And these apps are rarely single-platform, since not many people are going to forget about the most widespread platform, Window. Can you imagine Photoshop or Cubase for Mac only? I don't...

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Jun 15, 2000