Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gri

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 17, 2004
New York City, aka Big Apple
Question for the afficionados: I am a scientist looking for a new Laptop. I have a 1st generation MBP 15', which is getting old (beyond protection plan now) and is also too heavy for my taste. Whenever I travel I am cursing the weight as I have the MBP in my hand luggage with other things (something to read, camera, power brick, water bottle etc.) which simply makes it unbearable (literally).

How good is the MBA for Keynote presentations? Any slowing down when building up slides? I tend to have larger files with lots of large graphics, whioch can get up to several 100 MB in size for one presentation, even to 1G once. I considered the 13' MBP but the wieght and the screen remain an issue for me. I am hoping also for a revision late 2009 with finally 4 G of RAM and ideally a bigger SSD since all my Macs now have at least 2G... RAM

jb1280

macrumors 6502a
Jan 13, 2009
When I owned a rev. a hdd macbook air, I had no issue running keynote. Granted, files never reached nearly 1gb, but they were large with plenty of graphics.

I am sure the most recent iteration should be just fine.

Mactagonist

macrumors 65816
Feb 5, 2008
NYC - Manhattan
my girlfriend uses hers for standard 'scientist stuff' powerpoint, office, chemdraw, matlab, papers etc and it works great. Just make sure you have the correct adapter for whatever projector the conference provides.

kvasir

macrumors regular
Oct 9, 2007
I gave a presentation a couple of months ago with mine and it went very well. I had some graphics, but not nearly the intensity that you would have. The first gen MBP is getting long in the tooth and I had one for almost three years until I got my Air. Having another computer is nice though, an iMac is perfect for a heavy work computer (I do some audio and video work for my classroom ).