PDA

View Full Version : (Reward for an Answer!!!) Dell Monitor Self Check Issue

theqwertyblog
Jun 28, 2009, 07:20 PM
Hey guys! I am brand new to MacForums. I just registered tonight hoping you, unlike anyone else could help me.

Okay, here we go:

I have an Intel White iMac. I recently hooked up an external Dell monitor to it using a VGA to Mini-DVI adapter. It is working great, except for one thing. Every time the iMac goes to sleep, or even just puts displays to sleep, the monitor acts like there is no signal and starts that Self-Check feature (that bouncing multi-colored square that you always want to go exactly into the corner but, never does). I cannot figure out why! Don't just say that it's normal because I have seen people with Dell's hooked up to Macs and they do NOT have this issue. Now, I understand it could just be my computer, but, I am looking to get a new Mac soon. I am considering a Mac Pro, and so here is my true question because I don't think anyone will be able to explain for sure why it's happening to me: Does anyone out there have a Mac Pro connected to a Dell Monitor that does not have this problem? I want to know for when I purchase one, because that could make the difference between an Apple Monitor and a Dell Monitor.

Thanks! I am new here and I am hoping my experience will be great! I am told you guys are incredible with answering questions and I know there is no bigger community of Mac Geeks than here... Thanks again!

redwarrior
Jun 28, 2009, 07:29 PM
I have a Dell 2209WA with my early 2008 MBP. I don't have the issue you are describing here. There are several threads about external monitors, if you want to do some additional research.

Mroogle (http://mroogle.edesignuk.com/) is your friend.:)

Edit:

theqwertyblog
Jun 28, 2009, 07:30 PM
First off, thanks for replying

Second, I have done a TON of research I should have come here earlier but, you guys really are my last hope....

theqwertyblog
Jun 28, 2009, 07:34 PM