Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacDaddy901

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 24, 2008
So this is the very first graphic design job I have ever taken on. My neighbor is making a web site for a company and asked if I would come up with some logo ideas and I could make some easy money. I said yes.

The company I am making the logo for is called Medical Growth Fund, or Med Growth Fund for short. Basically they invest in smaller companies that deal with health sciences or health services.

I'm very new to this. I really enjoy this field and can see myself pursuing a career in it. I have a basic understanding of Photoshop and Dreamweaver (I built my high schools website) and am teaching myself Illustrator and some other programs. So any critiques, ideas, suggestions would be great.

So far this is what I've come up with.

nyiukg.jpg

20zppg8.jpg

1671jlz.jpg

THX1139

macrumors 68000
Mar 4, 2006
Let me guess, you have no formal training in graphic design? If not, then why are you doing this for money?

As for crit, I don't know where to begin.... Okay, your graphic elements- what do they represent? What are the relationships to each other? What message do they convey? Why did you choose those type faces? They don't relate to the graphics. And you have major kerning issues. Why blue? Do they plan to use the logo anywhere else than the website? Did you sample the blue with a PMS swatch? How does it look in black and white? I could go on...

Maybe you should post a scan of your thumbnails so we can see what you are thinking. You did do thumbnails didn't you?

Sorry if I'm coming off as harsh. I'm just a bit weary of people who think they can just pull a logo out of thin air because they think it would be fun. Especially those people with no formal training and then do it for hire. But, I'm especially weary of people who hire untrained people and take advantage of them.

kymac