PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake incorrectly marks stuff as HD




ss957916
Jun 29, 2009, 12:41 PM
I'm not sure why it does this but can I turn it off? And is it possible to delete the HD tags on stuff I've already hb'd?



Cave Man
Jun 29, 2009, 01:09 PM
How does Handbrake "mark" anything as HD?

roidy
Jun 29, 2009, 01:24 PM
Handbrake does not change the HD flag, the AppleTV/iTunes looks at the resolution of the file and if its above a certain resolution then the AppleTV/iTunes displays the HD icon.

ss957916
Jun 29, 2009, 01:58 PM
So is there a way to change it? Cos Fawlty Towers most certainly isn't HD.

roidy
Jun 29, 2009, 02:14 PM
What resolution did you encode it at? If it`s standard DVD resolution of 720x576 for PAL or 720x480 for NTSC then AppleTV/iTunes should not detect it as HD. Give us some more information about the file.

ss957916
Jun 29, 2009, 02:59 PM
I just encode everything with the 'Apple TV' preset.

Peace
Jun 29, 2009, 03:06 PM
Are your encodes widescreen ? If so the Apple TV might show the HD icon.

NiklasK
Jun 30, 2009, 01:30 AM
Ive had the same thing happening to me. 720p x264 files encoded using the AppleTV preset is now diplayed as HD. From what I understand, the atv-preset gives the endfile a resolution with a heoght of 544 pixels. before the 2.4 update this worked OK and showed up as SD. But now after the 2.4 upgrade you have to "tweak" the resolution to no more than 540 pixels to have it show up as SD

/Niklas.

roidy
Jun 30, 2009, 03:51 AM
I just encode everything with the 'Apple TV' preset.

I`m not sure as I don`t use the ATV preset, but I think it sets the resolution to something like 960 wide.

Ive had the same thing happening to me. 720p x264 files encoded using the AppleTV preset is now diplayed as HD. From what I understand, the atv-preset gives the endfile a resolution with a heoght of 544 pixels. before the 2.4 update this worked OK and showed up as SD. But now after the 2.4 upgrade you have to "tweak" the resolution to no more than 540 pixels to have it show up as SD

I encode all my DVD`s at 720x576, which is PAL resolution, and even after the 2.4 update non of them show up as HD. Like I say I think the ATV preset sets the horizontal resolution to 960 to allow for widescreen amamorphic.

Actually after checking it seems I`ve got some encodes at upto 1024x576 resoluton and iTunes/AppleTV still treats them as SD.

paol
Jul 3, 2009, 04:39 PM
I just noticed this problem too. I have encoded Star Trek Voyager DVD (pal) and they don't have the HD tag. I had to reencode one episode in season 4 recently since I had thrown it away by mistake and noticed that it shows up as HD on the AppleTV.

I encoded the show with HB svn2239 and the missing episode is done with svn2596. I used the AppleTV preset + cabac and ref 4, b-frames 3.

The episodes are approx 752*576 pixels, but the one encoded later with rev 2596 is 776*592 which is probably why its recognized as HD. I don't know why it is encoded in a slightly higher resolution?

NiklasK
Jul 6, 2009, 01:09 AM
I just noticed this problem too. I have encoded Star Trek Voyager DVD (pal) and they don't have the HD tag. I had to reencode one episode in season 4 recently since I had thrown it away by mistake and noticed that it shows up as HD on the AppleTV.

I encoded the show with HB svn2239 and the missing episode is done with svn2596. I used the AppleTV preset + cabac and ref 4, b-frames 3.

The episodes are approx 752*576 pixels, but the one encoded later with rev 2596 is 776*592 which is probably why its recognized as HD. I don't know why it is encoded in a slightly higher resolution?

I noticed this in 0.9.3 already with some PAL discs. Before I start an encode I always check the resolution and if its *592 I adjusts the AR to *576.