PDA

View Full Version : New router?




kirby1
Jul 7, 2009, 05:28 PM
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?



celticpride678
Jul 7, 2009, 05:30 PM
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?

Airport Extreme would be my preference

kirby1
Jul 7, 2009, 05:39 PM
should of got that instead, but do you think this router http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WRT120N would work good?

belvdr
Jul 7, 2009, 07:32 PM
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?

How exactly is the old router not compatible with a Mac? I have never heard or seen such a thing.

lostless
Jul 8, 2009, 05:19 PM
Ya, any router works with a mac. Just could be a configuration issue either on the mac or the router.

socrates35
Jul 9, 2009, 01:25 AM
The linksys router should work with your mac just fine. I would suggest going on the linksys website and download and print out the setup guide. Then connect your mac directly to the router and use a web brower and log into the router and setup the configuration for max protection and everything else. Its really easy and also I would suggest update the firmware. Usually the firmware will resolve most problems.