Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rower

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 6, 2009
I have a MBA B, which I am quite pleased with. However, I need to take it in to apple as the screen hinge is developing play.

I hate to lose use of my computer for 2 weeks or so, and I need another one perhaps anyway...

So - given I am going to graduate school, I was going to get a 24" monitor to use with the MBA.

Therefore, I wonder whether I should get a mini or a backup MBP. I don't do video editing, etc. (except for limited iMovie). I don't watch movies on the computer either - unless I had the mini for playing back stuff.

I was thinking of getting a mini to use as a htpc, along with my appletv, provided I could use the mini as an easy pvr.
I just hope that the mini would provide an easy enough tuner experience to replace cable and save money using off the air HD.

the mini would allow me to have a computer while the mba is off getting fixed.

Or, I could get a mpb for a second computer, perhaps leaving it plugged in to the 24" monitor at the house, and have a spare in case something goes wrong with the mba. Disadvantage is I doubt I want to carry the mbp around much - I had the prior generation 15" and it is a big machine.

I also worry about keeping two machines synced all the time so I dont have the wrong version of files.

Synching calendars and emails is no problem as I am on an exchange server.

I would get the 13" I guess, though I could get the 15". I am NOT a fan of the glassy screen.

I love the MBA and at school we have power outlets at every seat so no problem there with short battery life.

I know this is scattered, but I only want to get one additional computer. If the MBA didn't need to go back to Apple I wouldn't buy either right now but I guess this is an opportunity. I love the MBA and wait for the next release to cure its few faults and up the SSD and go to 4gb memory too.