PDA

View Full Version : Final Cut Studio Assets Install Location




swwack91
Jul 14, 2009, 08:36 PM
Many of the Final Cut Studio applications take GBs upon GBs of space for assets, templates, etc. Because my primary system is a laptop, is it possible to install these additional assets to external locations, like a FW external drive?

Obviously, the external drive would need to be connected to run the program. Just wondering if this is an option during the installation process.

Thanks.



Heb1228
Jul 14, 2009, 08:41 PM
Yes, there is an option during installation to choose where to install the extra media files.

swwack91
Jul 14, 2009, 08:43 PM
well that's one hell of a simple answer.

thanks a ton!

MrLatte23
Jul 15, 2009, 03:06 PM
If you've already installed everything, you can also move the files and re-link them thru preferences in each of the Suite's programs. LiveType, Motion, DVD Studio Pro and Soundtrack Pro have tons of templates that take up a lot of space.