PDA

View Full Version : college: mac question

zulgand04
Jun 9, 2004, 06:54 PM
Hey everyone, well im finally done with high school so im looking for a laptop. Im leaning towards the powerbook 12", though im alos reluctently looking at a dell 600m. Well the concern i have is that i am majoring in Computer Information Science at Western New England college, im not sure what programs i will need for the major which is concerning me, i really wnat a power book because i absolutly love my imac that i have but i woundering if the dell will end out working better in the end. well i dunno what do you guys think any body have experiance in my major? id appreciate all the help i can get.

-NEAL :)

Jo-Kun
Jun 9, 2004, 07:09 PM
maybe you can find someone who is following that study allready and ask him wich programs they need... and decide on that info

or just hang on to your mac's you have now and decide when you start ;-)

I think you can survive the first weeks by using the mac's you do have now...

in this case 'wait and see' is the best option ;-)

but I'm afraid you'll need WindBlows XP to run your programs... but thats just a guess... so than it will be a dell...

7on
Jun 9, 2004, 07:31 PM
I have a friend who does some computer science and he had a Mac (had as in he is a gamer and had to sell his powerMac). While he was Mac only he did stuff in the computer lab and he was alright with that.

Though I'd suggest a Mac laptop and a windows desktop. Since you'll be needing the most power from your Windows apps, this is why I configed it this way. And I suggest VPC on the laptop. If you can afford that much.

Krizoitz
Jun 9, 2004, 08:06 PM