PDA

View Full Version : BIG TROUBLE! HELP!


IlleriaMoon
Jun 10, 2004, 07:17 PM
OK, so, I decided to format my G5 because... well, I felt like it.

I inserted my Panther disc, and erased the hard drive with zeroes. OK. Then, when it finished, I remembered that these were UPGRADE discs. Not the normal OS discs. But, I couldn't eject so I could insert my original G5 CD. So, it gave me the option for the startup disc. I clicked "network" by accident. Then, when I pressed restart, I yelled, "NETWORK?! I'M NOT ON ONE!"

I managed to get the original G5 CD in, but now, by default, the Mac tries to connect on a network, though because there isn't one, I just get a gray screen with the network icon flashing.

How on Earth can I remedy this?

Today is not my day. '-_-

justin216
Jun 10, 2004, 07:25 PM
Put the G5 restore disk in...hold C and boot the machine up...it will begin to boot from CD instead

IlleriaMoon
Jun 10, 2004, 07:27 PM
Put the G5 restore disk in...hold C and boot the machine up...it will begin to boot from CD instead

Thank you so much!

Bah. I guess there's still a LOT more that I can learn about Macs.

You've saved my life. Thanks again. :)