Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

impulse462

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 3, 2009
Hi all,

I'm testing into the AP Computer Science class for my senior year and at my school they teach java.

I've had some experience with C, so im familiar with coding (kinda), however I only started this whole computer programming thing about 2 weeks ago.

One of the questions on this review sheet is to write a program in which the user inputs 3 integers and the program displays the sum,average,product, smallest and the largest of these 3 integers.

The sum,average, and product I all have down, but for the love of me I have no idea what to do to make the program determine which is the largest and smallest integer

http://pastie.org/558429

this is my code so far. I know it has something to do with the if loop, but I just can't think of what to type. Any help would be greatly appreciated

SilentPanda

Moderator emeritus
Oct 8, 2002
The Bamboo Forest
There's many ways to do it and I think recursion is probably too much for knowing there will only be 3 numbers... if I were you I would probably do something like the following...

How can you tell if one number is larger than another? Can you store the larger one somewhere? Can you then check if that number is larger than your third number?

I don't want to just give you the code especially since you're trying to learn, but hopefully that will steer you in the right direction.

You could also use the ternary operator but that's probably a bit further into the class maybe.

impulse462

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 3, 2009
Well I would use

if(a<b)

If that statement were true, is it possible to give the "truthness" a variable and then have a second "if" loop comparing that variable of "truthness" to the third integer c?

sounds kind of weird i know..

Cinder6

macrumors 6502a
Jul 9, 2009