Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gumbyx84

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 7, 2008
Hello all. I have a fairly odd question for you all. I am thinking of taking on a personal project now that I will be graduating and it is porting the Windows homebrew app RemoteJoyLite (app and plugin for PSP that allows you to output video from PSP to monitor) to OS X. I have looked over the source code and found that the orignal programmer used DirectX to display the video to the screen. I am new to graphics programming (DirectX or otherwise) and am not sure how to port this app. On the Open-Source front, are there any tools or libraries I can use to convert the DirectX calls to OpenGL? If I can get those calls converted, it should be easy to port it to OS X and *nix.

If any of you guys could help me out, I would greatly appreciate it.

EDIT: After WINE was mentioned in this thread (these three posts), I did a bit of research on WINE and windows drivers. From what I understand, if you have *nix drivers for the device (in this case "PSP B" drivers which are based on libusb32), it should interface properly with the Windows app running in WINE. Basically, I am trying to find out if this is true. If so, does anyone know how I would actually go about doing this (getting libusb32 to recognize the custom PSP drivers as a valid device).

boast

macrumors 65816
Nov 12, 2007
Phoenix, USA
hmm, maybe you can try talking with the wine devs to see how they do their Directx -> OpenGL, or searching through its source code in hopes of finding something.

gumbyx84

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 7, 2008
hmm, maybe you can try talking with the wine devs to see how they do their Directx -> OpenGL, or searching through its source code in hopes of finding something.

The issue is I don't want to "wrap" the program like WINE does. I want it to run natively as a Coca app.