PDA

View Full Version : What equipment. to start recording my songs?

masterell
Jul 28, 2009, 01:19 PM
Hi,

I was wondering what equipment I would need if I were to record basic samples of my songs..my budget is small as I am still a student.

Basically would like to know if there's a certain piano keyboard I could purchase and plug in to my macbook, and record with software which would recognise the notes played so that if I need to edit them afterwards I could.

The software would also need to be able to change the sound to sound like another instrument e.g. bass, guitar etc.

I also need a really simple mic to record with - would the internal one on my macbook suffice?

Is there anything else you think i've missed out?

Thanks in advance.

jmann
Jul 28, 2009, 01:20 PM
Garage Band.

musio
Jul 28, 2009, 01:27 PM
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=754869

garageband :D

masterell
Jul 28, 2009, 05:04 PM
:eek: any recommendations on the keyboard?

MezicanGangxtah
Jul 28, 2009, 06:09 PM

do you want a midi keyboard or a sound generating keyboard
and whats your budget? how many keys do you want?

Liquorpuki
Jul 28, 2009, 06:17 PM
go to tweakheadz.com and school yourself on music recording

your question is too broad to answer

masterell
Jul 28, 2009, 06:41 PM
Don't need that many keys on it. A half size keyboard will suffice.

As for sound generating or midi generating - I want it to sound like a real piano preferably..

jackerin
Jul 28, 2009, 07:48 PM
I started out on a 49-key M-audio Keystation, it was fun at the time, but looking back on it after getting the Korg M50 it was really small and the keys felt pretty much like pressing a mushroom. It did what it was supposed to do, however, letting me record midi in Garageband and learning the basics of keyboard playing.

salientstimulus
Jul 28, 2009, 08:56 PM