PDA

View Full Version : Lines Across Handbrake Rip




SimonGarlick
Jul 30, 2009, 05:20 AM
Hi, just wondered if anyone could help? I'm just backing up Season 1 of the X-Files using Mac the Ripper and Handbrake, but not getting great results from the produced files. I'm using the Apple TV preset, as I'm wanting to view them using Apple TV, but when watching back the ripped files, they at times have banded lines running through the image, especially if there's any excessive motion on screen.

Without knowing too much about tweaking Handbrake's settings, does anyone know of any adjustments that may produce a better file?

Thanks for any help.

Regards,
Simon



ascender
Jul 30, 2009, 06:34 AM
I don't have it in front of me, but I think the settings you need to alter are under PICTURE SETTINGS, then set DECOMB on. More info here. (http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Decomb)

I think there's a DEFAULT setting you should set on, but should be easy to spot when you get in there. Just create a new preset to save you having to do it manually.

NightStorm
Jul 30, 2009, 07:21 AM
I recently finished converting these for probably the 4th time (each time HB added new features). The best option is to enable the decomb and deteleceine filters. This will take care of the majority of issues with encoding these (can't fix the bad sources, especially for the first couple seasons).