Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dott

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 1, 2008
Australia
Hi,

I just wanted to put in my two cents worth on the Macbook Air. I've read this section of the forums for a long time following the air's progress. I was almost put off on ordering it due to some of the stuff I had read; however, I took the risk and I'm so happy I did.

I am a university student and I use the air as my main computer. It's very suited to having lots of word documents open .pdfs as well as web pages, IM's and iTunes. I haven't seen it lag or stutter yet as some posts suggest. The screen is also line free on my unit (so good ones are out there!). The battery is around 3:30 with bluetooth off, wifi off and only surfing the web (facebook, other mainly text based pages) with a USB dongle. I'm sure with more tweaking I could get more out of it.

So I just wanted to let people know that if you're in a similar situation to mine and thinking about the air. I think it's a beautiful machine and should take the risk!

coolbreeze

macrumors 68000
Jan 20, 2003
UT
I'm tossing around the idea of eBaying my June MBP 17" 2.8ghz for a MBA + 24" ACD.

For some reason, I'm honestly considering rolling the eBay dice on my mint MBP.......

Have I lost my mind? Usage is 80% home, rest travel. Usually with another laptop (Work/Personal lappy). Tom Bihn bags have worked thus far.

arcangel6

macrumors regular
Aug 21, 2008
Wisconsin
I'm tossing around the idea of eBaying my June MBP 17" 2.8ghz for a MBA + 24" ACD.