PDA

View Full Version : free iPod banner




Amani
Jun 18, 2004, 06:50 PM
Has anyone clicked the free iPod banner popping up on this site? The offer seems too good to be true. The claim is that you can get a free iPod mini--not the older model that is pictured--by just buying some DVDs or books, signing up for AOL, or applying for a Discover credit card. Doing this, you get this iPod mini in about 4 to 6 weeks. I started to go for it, but I didn't like that they don't provide a phone number to ask follow-up questions. Again, just seems too good to be true.

Has anyone actually won an iPod anywhere?



Anna
Jun 19, 2004, 04:39 AM
Nope, i havent won an iPod...at the moment they have the pepsi promotion that you win an iPod every hour...I think i have drunk over 15L of that dammed sugar-water with no avail.

aethier
Jun 19, 2004, 08:09 AM
Safari blocks all my pop-ups. so i don't get to see all those great adds you are talking about... (what a shame)

i just don't get why ie doesn't have pop up blocker, whenever i use a friends pc, its just so annoying, safari really helps in making the internet more pleasurable

aethier

jimsowden
Jun 19, 2004, 10:15 AM
I won a 10g iPod in a Quicktime CKY contest. That was pretty lucky, so I don't try and push it.

Amani
Jun 19, 2004, 11:58 AM
Safari blocks all my pop-ups. so i don't get to see all those great adds you are talking about... (what a shame)
aethier

It's not really a pop-up, but a flashing banner that changes when you switch from page to page. I'm not sure how Safari would block that.

Also, the free iPod ad doesn't appear a lot, but I saw it at least 4 times yesterday.

The free ipod seems like a good deal, but the only way I would ever want an iPod mini is that in fact someone gave me one without me having to commit to anything. I think the mini is over priced, and 4 gb just doesn't do it for me.

iindigo
Jun 19, 2004, 06:46 PM
Yeah I've seen these ads too. They're flash-based and somthing like this:


KILL the evil kangaroo and GET iPOD!

or

SHOOT the criminal and GET iPOD!


Oh please... :rolleyes:

Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 20, 2004, 07:49 AM
It's not really a pop-up, but a flashing banner that changes when you switch from page to page. I'm not sure how Safari would block that.

If it is Flash based you can block it by unchecking Preferences -> Security -> Web Content: Enable plug-ins.

Then you only see lighter and less annoying ads made with text and images (including animated gifs).

youngsjunk2
Jul 2, 2004, 05:45 PM
Over at the FlyerTalk forums, people report that they are actually getting free iPods shipped to them. This is how they are doing it:

1. http://www.*********.com/default.aspx?referer=spammer.
2. Register and sign up for one of their "offers." I recommend using the Ancestry.com offer because it doesn't cost anything and you can cancel immediately.

I suggest checking out the forums at FlyerTalk: http://www.flyertalk.com/(link removed).

Sun Baked
Jul 2, 2004, 05:57 PM
Yeah I've seen these ads too. They're flash-based and somthing like this:


KILL the evil kangaroo and GET iPOD!

or

SHOOT the criminal and GET iPOD!


Oh please... :rolleyes:I guess the moderators aren't getting their free iPods for...

BANNING the *********.com NEWBIEs

which is really too bad. ;)

And they probably deserve it for all the freeipod spam they're getting rid of.

MacDawg
Jul 3, 2004, 09:17 AM
Wow... every other post is about free iPods now... almost like cult evangelism. There really is a sucker born every minute!

VenomizedCobra
Jul 3, 2004, 01:19 PM
http://www.*********.com/default.aspx?referer=spammer

I am also trying to get 5 referalls in order to get my free ipod. I finished the offer which came out to be free (ancestry.com and then canceled before the trial was over). I just need 5 referalls to sign up succesfully. I am also giving away $5 via paypal to anybody who successfully signs up underneath me. You can also get a free ipod mini, ipod, or $250 of itunes from apple. At least try it, you can always cancel the offer from ancestry.com and pay nothing!

King Cobra
Jul 3, 2004, 01:24 PM
LOL! This is great. First off, I have no affiliation with the above poster, despite my name. Second, I think that all these continuous iPod referral threads and posts regarding the ad are self-promoting... not allowed on MacRumors. Time to shut down another thread.

And off to the Wasteland we go again. :D

Amani
Jul 3, 2004, 03:08 PM
LOL! This is great. First off, I have no affiliation with the above poster, despite my name. Second, I think that all these continuous iPod referral threads and posts regarding the ad are self-promoting... not allowed on MacRumors. Time to shut down another thread.
:D

Well, doesn't the company have to back up its claim? I haven't yet found anyone who has actually recieved a Pod using this free offer. I read that it takes about 6 to 8 weeks for you to get the Pod.

Do the Macrumor guys check for the legitimacy of the ads they allow to be posted?