PDA

View Full Version : Will 1st gen iPhone Sim work in 3Gs?




MK-Ultra
Aug 13, 2009, 01:33 PM
I have an original iPhone and I am on the AT&T "Go-phone" plan (pay as you go, no contract). AT&T will not transfer this plan to a new 3GS iPhone, as they've discontinued this plan for new phones.

If I buy a new iPhone 3GS, can I swap my old SIM card into the new phone and continue using my old account with the new phone, or will the old SIM card not work with all the new hardware features (video and such) in the 3GS?

Thanks.



Gav2k
Aug 13, 2009, 01:43 PM
The sim should be 3g but even if it's 2g which I doubt the phone will work fine the only thing it won't do is hop onto 3g

SpaceKitty
Aug 13, 2009, 01:55 PM
Yes it will work 100% including 3G. The thing that determins 3G service is the phone and not the service or sim.

MK-Ultra
Aug 14, 2009, 08:28 PM
Yes it will work 100% including 3G. The thing that determins 3G service is the phone and not the service or sim.

What about the hardware? I don't know much about sims. I'm concerned that the older sim won't be able to "run" the hardware that exists in the new phone and not the old one -- like the video camera.

-aggie-
Aug 14, 2009, 08:44 PM
Yes it will work 100% including 3G. The thing that determins 3G service is the phone and not the service or sim.

From what I remember or was told, you need a 3G sim, so no you can't use the old sim from a regular iPhone. Are you sure about that?

TEG
Aug 14, 2009, 08:50 PM
The SIM for the original iPhone was a 3G SIM, because most companies started using them across the board when they started offering 3G. Just look on the SIM, if it says 3G, then it will work with not problems. If it does not, it will still work, but the 3G radio won't have the information it needs to connect, so you will be stuck on EDGE.

TEG

-aggie-
Aug 14, 2009, 09:09 PM
The SIM for the original iPhone was a 3G SIM, because most companies started using them across the board when they started offering 3G. Just look on the SIM, if it says 3G, then it will work with not problems. If it does not, it will still work, but the 3G radio won't have the information it needs to connect, so you will be stuck on EDGE.

TEG

Oh, well I thought it wasn't a 3G sim, however I waited until after the iPhone improved to join the club. So, yeah, if it was a 3G, then as Spacekitty said, it will work.

Why anyone would not use a 3G sim in an iPhone is beyond me.

Planky
Aug 15, 2009, 08:49 AM
Well it works for me. I went from an original iPhone to a 3GS one and am using the original SIM card.

Apps work, I get a 3G signal (when I can find an area with 3G, I only have GPRS where I live :( )

:D:D

AiralynRose
Aug 15, 2009, 09:21 AM
From what I remember or was told, you need a 3G sim, so no you can't use the old sim from a regular iPhone. Are you sure about that?

Some of the original iPhones had 3G sims. Its just a matter of when AT&T switched to the 3G sims... Check to see if it has a 3G logo on the sim card.