Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

brsboarder

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 16, 2004
I need a new charger for my c2d macbook. I'm wondering what peoples experiences with non-oem chargers are? A new one from apple is $80, whereas I can pick one up for $18 shipped on ebay.

Thoughts?

thegoldenmackid

macrumors 604
Dec 29, 2006
dallas, texas
I always bought originals, check your local Craigslist. Quality and safety were massive concerns of mine and how my multiple-thousand dollar machine gets powered.

Richard1028

macrumors 68000
Jan 8, 2009
I've been using a non-OEM charger I got on ebay for 8 months now. No problems. It doesn't look like the original MagSafe charger with the "brick" on the very end but it's the same in all other respects. And as a bonus, it doesn't catch fire like some of Apple's chargers do. :D

I keep the original charger in my brief case and just keep the ebay one on my desk at home. I never have to unplug and pack chargers when I'm on the go. And since I'm mostly on battery power when I leave the house, the ebay charger is in use 95% of the time.

r.j.s

Moderator emeritus
Mar 7, 2007
Texas
And as a bonus, it doesn't catch fire like some of Apple's chargers do. :D

Until, one day, it does. Your charger is not licensed, and probably not UL listed, and more than likely made in China to no standard.

The risk is too great to go cheap on something that can destroy your machine and burn down your house.

Richard1028

macrumors 68000
Jan 8, 2009
Until, one day, it does. Your charger is not licensed, and probably not UL listed,

Sure it is - just like yours.

and more than likely made in China to no standard.
Where do you think your mac is made? :D

The risk is too great to go cheap on something that can destroy your machine and burn down your house.
I guess you haven't read the horror stories here about the charger you use?