PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else having problems with MakeMKV?




jrwmba
Aug 27, 2009, 02:54 PM
MakeMKV is uniformly crashing on me after about 30min of work. Panasonic blu-ray reader and burner, all looks good, then "failed" message. If the movie is short enough to finish before about 30 minutes elapses it converts, but main features crash after 30 min. Tried on rev c MBA and on iMac 2.8. Using the very latest version of MakeMKV updated earlier this week. Thoughts or suggestions anyone?



BORIStheBLADE
Aug 27, 2009, 04:08 PM
Check the disc for scratches. It probably isn't, but I had two DVD's crash on me recently and couldn't figure out why. Until I put them in the dvd player and they wouldn't want to play in certain parts of the movie.

jrwmba
Aug 27, 2009, 04:12 PM
No scratches. Tried two different discs - Mission impossible 3 and Watchmen - before I got frustrated and made this post.

BORIStheBLADE
Aug 27, 2009, 06:53 PM
When I had an issue with a couple of DVD's I found the guy working on it in a different forum and asked him about the issues. He got me back and told me they knew about it and were working on it too.

Heres the forum and thread.

http://forum.doom9.org/forumdisplay.php?f=9

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=144611

jrwmba
Sep 1, 2009, 09:40 PM
If anyone cares I solved my problem. This player/burner is USB powered but the manual says "attach to supplemental power for burning". Well, it needs the extra power for ripping also otherwise it fails.

danny_w
Sep 14, 2009, 09:28 PM
I can't even get MakeMKV to install. It just starts to install and gives an "Install Error" and quits. I really wanted to try this out but no luck so far.

EDIT: I am running SL 10.6

danny_w
Sep 15, 2009, 04:47 PM
I can't even get MakeMKV to install. It just starts to install and gives an "Install Error" and quits. I really wanted to try this out but no luck so far.

EDIT: I am running SL 10.6
Found my problem. You have to be an administrator when you run the installer, instead of merely giving your administrator credentials like just about every other installer out there. Why did they do such a dumb thing without even noting it?