PDA

View Full Version : new nvidia 6800 card


adamfilip
Jun 29, 2004, 02:11 PM
Will the new Nvidia 6800 card with dual dvi work in a 1.6ghz G5?

MacsRgr8
Jun 29, 2004, 02:15 PM
I would expect so.
The 1.6 also has the AGP 8x, doesn't it?

adamfilip
Jun 29, 2004, 02:44 PM
the 6800 uses PCIX i think

MacsRgr8
Jun 29, 2004, 03:03 PM
the 6800 uses PCIX i think

Nope.
From The Apple Store (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore?productLearnMore=M9593G/A) :

NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL

The groundbreaking new NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra delivers the industry's first 16-pipe superscalar architecture and support for the world's fastest DDR3 memory to raise the bar for 3D graphics performance. The specifications of the GeForce 6800 Ultra GPU, are stunning: Using over 220 million transistors it supports a 256-bit interface for an effective memory bandwidth of 35.2 GB per second which delivers 600 million vertices, 6.4 billion textured pixels per second. The GPU is built on an AGP 8X board and includes 256MB of DDR3 memory for use in the most demanding graphics applications. It is the first card available to support the DVI standard dual link digital signal specification from the two DVI ports it features. This capability is required to drive the new 30-inch LCD, high resolution Apple Cinema HD display. The combination of a GeForce 6800 Ultra with a dual processor Power Mac G5 driving two 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Displays is the definitive tool for the creative professional.

Special note on the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra: due to size of this advanced graphics card, the adjacent PCI or PCI-X slot will be blocked and cannot be used. This reduces the number of available PCI or PCI-X slots from three to two.

crakky
Jun 29, 2004, 03:32 PM
I recently ordered a 2.5Ghz G5, I work in FX so I figure I would splurge a bit on the graphics card so I got the 9800XT (at the time best option). Since, I have not recieved my new comp yet (delivering july 12th), I could probably have them add the nvidia 6800.
Is it that much better than the 9800XT or is its big draw the dual dvi support? Any info would be great I am not educated on graphics cards at all.



thanks

BrianKonarsMac
Jun 29, 2004, 03:40 PM
I recently ordered a 2.5Ghz G5, I work in FX so I figure I would splurge a bit on the graphics card so I got the 9800XT (at the time best option). Since, I have not recieved my new comp yet (delivering july 12th), I could probably have them add the nvidia 6800.
Is it that much better than the 9800XT or is its big draw the dual dvi support? Any info would be great I am not educated on graphics cards at all.



thanks

it is SIGNIFICANTLY better than the 9800XT, definitely worth the extra $150 and extended wait. the only card ATi offers that is comparable to the 6800 is the x800 which isn't available for macs yet.

BrianKonarsMac
Jun 29, 2004, 04:15 PM
Will the new Nvidia 6800 card with dual dvi work in a 1.6ghz G5? it will work, but it's a bit of overkill don't you think? i mean, it costs about 1/3 of the system when it was brand new.

pdpfilms
Jun 29, 2004, 04:42 PM
I've got a 20" cinema display that i have no intentions of getting rid of...just yet. I was wondering if it would be possible to install the 6800 card in addition to my existing radeon 9600 to allow for a 30" monitor....what do you guys think?

benpatient
Jun 29, 2004, 04:44 PM
impossible, of course! you only have one AGP slot, man!

jsw
Jun 29, 2004, 04:48 PM
Plus, you can drive the 20" with the 6800 as well. One DVI port for the 30", one DVI port + DVI-> ADC adapter for the 20".

osprey76
Jun 29, 2004, 05:02 PM
the 6800 uses PCIX i think

No, it uses AGP 8x. That would be a big outlay relative to the total system cost. The 1.6 G5 may have trouble feeding the 6800.

jsw
Jun 29, 2004, 05:10 PM
No, it uses AGP 8x. That would be a big outlay relative to the total system cost. The 1.6 G5 may have trouble feeding the 6800.

It certainly would be a big outlay. However, the 1.6 shouldn't have a problem feeding the 6800 for games which center around the GPU. Still, agreed, it might not seem amazingly faster, but, on the other hand, you'd be guaranteed to max out your CPU, not to be waiting on a slower GPU.

adamfilip
Jun 29, 2004, 07:14 PM
I believe there is a Bias in terms of people thinking a 1.6 G5 is a 300mhz G3

my G5 isnt much slower then a 2ghz G5. considering most games are not SMT aware anyways. so i dont see why my G5 wouldnt be able to take advantage of the card any more then 2ghz machine would. It would almost seem to me that my machines needs it more to offload the cpu onto the gpu. which the dualies dont need as much.

this 6800 card isnt AGP. so then i cant use it.?

my G5 has atleast 3 64bit PCI slots i believe and an AGp i think

Chaszmyr
Jun 29, 2004, 07:35 PM
I've got a 20" cinema display that i have no intentions of getting rid of...just yet. I was wondering if it would be possible to install the 6800 card in addition to my existing radeon 9600 to allow for a 30" monitor....what do you guys think?

You can not install two video cards because you only have one AGP slot, but I see no reason that you cant run both a 30'' and a 20'' on just the 6800

yoda13
Jun 29, 2004, 08:36 PM
I believe there is a Bias in terms of people thinking a 1.6 G5 is a 300mhz G3

my G5 isnt much slower then a 2ghz G5. considering most games are not SMT aware anyways. so i dont see why my G5 wouldnt be able to take advantage of the card any more then 2ghz machine would. It would almost seem to me that my machines needs it more to offload the cpu onto the gpu. which the dualies dont need as much.

this 6800 card isnt AGP. so then i cant use it.?

my G5 has atleast 3 64bit PCI slots i believe and an AGp i think

Its AGP and it will work.

adamfilip
Jun 29, 2004, 09:25 PM
Its AGP and it will work.

sorry you are correct

My wrong

MacsRgr8
Jun 30, 2004, 07:26 AM
I'll be getting one for my Dual 1.8

I will be ready for Doom 3! :D

:)