PDA

View Full Version : Wi-Fi phone for Mac released

MacBytes
Jul 2, 2004, 02:53 PM
Category: 3rd Party Hardware
Link: Wi-Fi phone for Mac released (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20040702155311)
Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)

Approved by Mudbug

sworthy
Jul 2, 2004, 04:22 PM
Cool, but I wonder what the adaptor will be like? Does anyone know how much this typically costs?

"A broadband phone adapter will soon be available to allow Apple computer users with high-speed Internet connections to use Viper's voice over Internet protocol (VoIP) calling services as well."

Fender2112
Jul 2, 2004, 04:36 PM
I guess this is cool news. But I don't get it. I've been using cordless phones for about 15 years and they work great with my existing phone service. I've also been using cell phones for just about as long.

Maybe I'm missing something but I don't see anything new about this.

iMeowbot
Jul 2, 2004, 05:49 PM
I guess this is cool news. But I don't get it. I've been using cordless phones for about 15 years and they work great with my existing phone service. I've also been using cell phones for just about as long.

Maybe I'm missing something but I don't see anything new about this.
It's all about getting (theoretically) cheaper phone service by using TCP/IP rather than the traditional switched phone network.

I don't really understand why they're calling this phone "for Mac", it's designed to work not just with AirPort but any other WiFi base too. $250 seems a bit steep for a product like this, but I can see where something like it might be handy in a large industrial environment.

mainstreetmark
Jul 3, 2004, 09:08 AM
It's all about getting (theoretically) cheaper phone service by using TCP/IP rather than the traditional switched phone network.