Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yettimillan

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 28, 2009
Hi,

I really wan't to get into programming, I love my mac and just want to be able to create some simple basic apps of my own.

The thing is I don't really know the first thing about programming, I don't really understand how it all works.

My question is could someone please explain to me how it all works and how they got all of their knowledge about it. Would it be possible to learn the basics online by myself or do I need to go to college for that?

Im really enthusiatic about this so I don't mind spending a little money on a book if that will help but i am only a student so free would be best.

Thanks, I hope someone understands and can help :)

yoavcs

macrumors regular
Apr 7, 2004
Israel
Steps to becoming a programmer:

1. Understand that this is a LONG journey. You won't be a programmer three weeks from now. Not even three months. Maybe, if you are real diligent, you'll be an OK programmer 3 years from now.

2. If you want to do it right buy a book. Fame costs blood and sweat.

3. Search for Stephen Kochan's Objective-C book on Amazon, or get the C and Objective-C books from apress.com

4. Move on up from there. Step 3 is enough to tidy you over for a few months.

5. Reread #1.

6. There are no free lunches.

7. There is no spoon.

yettimillan

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 28, 2009
Steps to becoming a programmer:

1. Understand that this is a LONG journey. You won't be a programmer three weeks from now. Not even three months. Maybe, if you are real diligent, you'll be an OK programmer 3 years from now.

2. If you want to do it right buy a book. Fame costs blood and sweat.

3. Search for Stephen Kochan's Objective-C book on Amazon, or get the C and Objective-C books from apress.com

4. Move on up from there. Step 3 is enough to tidy you over for a few months.

5. Reread #1.