PDA

View Full Version : Airport Extreme Help (Newbie!)


rapps
Jul 5, 2004, 08:01 PM
Hi,
I just bought an ibook and an airport extreme card. I thought I installed in in fine along with the software...but I'm having some issues. The ibook isn't recognizing my network for some reason. I have a siemens speedstream wireless router that has 3 other PC's running off it fine. I cannot get the airport assist to recognize my router. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help!
Jason

Horrortaxi
Jul 5, 2004, 08:44 PM
When you click on the Airport icon, does your network show up? If it doesn't it might not be broadcasting it's SSID--that's a security measure. You'd have to select "other" and enter the base station's name + password.

A little more information would be nice. What exactly have you done, and what exactly does your Mac tell you?

Horrortaxi
Jul 5, 2004, 08:46 PM
Oh, and is this a G4 iBook? G3s take the Airport card, not extreme.

rapps
Jul 5, 2004, 09:09 PM
Thanks for the reply!! I fixed it, however.....

I didn't push hard enough for the anntenae to go in....now it works!!