PDA

View Full Version : Help pick my new career

Inkmonkey
Jul 6, 2004, 12:21 PM
So I recently found out that they are closing my department at work. In 6 months I will be unemployed. Not the end of the world since I rather dislike this job and they are offering me a fair severance package.

I am now left with the task of figuring out what I would like to do. I could use the severance to go back to school or use it as a buffer while looking for a new job. Could also use it to start a small business.

Just a little about myself: I'm 32, my current job is in telecommunications, and I work part-time as a cartoonist (mostly doing cartoon strips). It by far does not pay the bills but I love doing it. I love most anything where I am able to create something with my hands.

Just wondering what some of you might do given this opportunity? Or maybe you have gone through something similiar and have some advice? Or maybe you know of a killer career or idea that's worth looking into?

JesseJames
Jul 6, 2004, 12:46 PM
I think it really depends on your hearts desire. Married? Have kids? Then you have to think about them of course.

Inkmonkey
Jul 6, 2004, 01:54 PM
I think it really depends on your hearts desire. Married? Have kids? Then you have to think about them of course.

Married. No kids.
She's very supportive and wants me to do whatever makes me happy.

scem0
Jul 6, 2004, 02:00 PM
I'm guessing you didn't like the telecommunications job because you didn't get to really exercise your creative abilities (among other things, I'm sure).

And I'd guess your a pretty creatively inclined person based on your hobby as a cartoonist.

I'd try to find a job that mixes both computers and creativity. Graphics designer, multimedia designer, etc. You could make some badass animations using flash. You could make decent money being a free-lance multimedia designer, and have fun doing it.

The hopefully helpful 2 cents of a 17 year old who has never had a real job.

scem0

JesseJames