PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone bought anything from www.macfanatic.com




csubear
Jul 6, 2004, 06:15 PM
My brother is looking to by a powerbook or ibook. And he found this place called macfanatics macfanatics (http://www.macfanaticshop.com).

Is this place for real. They have a very nice discount compared to apple.com



jcook793
Jul 6, 2004, 06:32 PM
macfanatic.com and macfanaticshop.com are not the same thing. Check this thread:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=41856

csubear
Jul 6, 2004, 06:53 PM
This place claims that they are based in WA. The macwiz whaterver was in canada.

csubear
Jul 6, 2004, 07:08 PM
so i just did a whois on there site.

Registrant:
MAC MASTER
1160 Yew Ave
BLAINE, WA 98230-1500
US

Domain name: MACFANATICSHOP.COM

Administrative Contact:
BROADHEAD, JOHN macfanatic2001@aol.com
1160 Yew Ave
BLAINE, WA 98230-1500
US
(360) 364-0966 Fax: (360) 364-0966

Technical Contact:
BROADHEAD, JOHN macfanatic2001@aol.com
1160 Yew Ave
BLAINE, WA 98230-1500
US
(360) 364-0966 Fax: (360) 364-0966



Registration Service Provider:
Look Communications Inc. / Easyhosting.com, postmaster@easyhosting.com
1-877-414-5665
This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords,
DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions.


Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 25-Apr-2004.
Record expires on 22-Feb-2005.
Record created on 22-Feb-2004.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.RESCON.COM 64.106.213.70
NS1.RESCON.COM 64.106.213.80


The Data in the Tucows Registrar WHOIS database is provided to you by Tucows
for information purposes only, and may be used to assist you in obtaining
information about or related to a domain name's registration record.

Tucows makes this information available "as is," and does not guarantee its
accuracy.

By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this data only for
lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to:
a) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission by e-mail,
telephone, or facsimile of mass, unsolicited, commercial advertising or
solicitations to entities other than the data recipient's own existing
customers; or (b) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that
send queries or data to the systems of any Registry Operator or
ICANN-Accredited registrar, except as reasonably necessary to register
domain names or modify existing registrations.

The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is
expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Tucows.

Tucows reserves the right to terminate your access to the Tucows WHOIS
database in its sole discretion, including without limitation, for excessive
querying of the WHOIS database or for failure to otherwise abide by this
policy.

Tucows reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms.

NOTE: THE WHOIS DATABASE IS A CONTACT DATABASE ONLY. LACK OF A DOMAIN
RECORD DOES NOT SIGNIFY DOMAIN AVAILABILITY.


So who is this guy BROADHEAD, JOHN ?

Not the Charalambid family, and def not Dennis.


Plus their dns record was created on 22-Feb-2004. so much for 7 years.

Now I know this dons't 100% mean that this is a scam. But...

csubear
Jul 6, 2004, 07:13 PM
Hate to post to my own thread like 10 times but..

I did a whois on macwhi********** and it turns out that the both use the same dns, easyhosting.com or something.

Don't know..

x86isslow
Jul 6, 2004, 07:23 PM
as far as discounts on the web go, I'd say stick to Apple's. Is your brother in college? He'd be eligible for edu discount then. or if you go to CSU (assuming, based on your sn), you could get something for him using your discount.

csubear
Jul 6, 2004, 07:48 PM
Right now he's in the miltary oversees (Japan), i guess he's in the Airforce comunity college or something. But he's not sure if apple gives a discount for that.

Ya CSU :) Not the best school in the world, but its not that bad :)

2A Batterie
Jul 6, 2004, 07:59 PM
I'd stay away... just go with the apple discount, which is safe. I know macfanatic.com and macfanaticshop.com are supposedly different, but I stay away just to be safe. There really should be a sticky somewhere about macfanaticshop/macwhiz/whoever this Dennis guy is that is ripping kind mac folk off. I hope he gets busted bad, but I also hope that consumers don't give him the chance to get busted (ie buying a computer that never ships).

csubear
Jul 6, 2004, 08:09 PM
true, I think macrumors needs a special section like, confermed mac scams. or something like that.

svenr
Jul 7, 2004, 01:44 PM
macfanatic.com and macfanaticshop.com are not the same thing. Check this thread:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=41856
It's a scam. Visit this site summarizing that thread:
http://www.bustspammers.com/macfanaticshop-fraud/


I think macrumors needs a special section like, confermed mac scams. or something like that.
I agree, at least that original thread should be made a sticky and have its name changed to the current incarnation.

iJon
Jul 7, 2004, 02:59 PM
you will never see discounts that low unless its old inventory. no wonder scammers stay in business.

iJon

solvs
Jul 7, 2004, 04:31 PM
There is a Government discount (Federal Employees). It's even cheaper than the student discounts, and in some places they don't charge sales tax either. Plus free shipping (though that may be different with APO/FPO). He should call Apple directly and find out. Or get a nice refurb and spend the savings on AppleCare.

But yeah, if it's too good to be true and all...

iJon
Jul 7, 2004, 04:42 PM
There is a Government discount (Federal Employees). It's even cheaper than the student discounts, and in some places they don't charge sales tax either. Plus free shipping (though that may be different with APO/FPO). He should call Apple directly and find out. Or get a nice refurb and spend the savings on AppleCare.

But yeah, if it's too good to be true and all...
true but apple controls all government and education discounts directly, not through resellers, so this is a scam.

iJon

solvs
Jul 7, 2004, 05:08 PM
true but apple controls all government and education discounts directly, not through resellers, so this is a scam.

iJon
Right, sorry, that's what I meant. Gov is only through Apple directly.

This is probably a scam.

SillyKary
Jul 8, 2004, 03:11 AM
...This is probably a scam.

No. Not "probably". It is, period.

Check this site, it was posted before:
http://bustspammers.com/macfanaticshop-fraud/index.html
Very eye-opening.

solvs
Jul 8, 2004, 11:52 PM
Thanks for the link. WOW! Scary. I respectfully remove my probably.