PDA

View Full Version : KVM switch question...


Wilson
Jul 6, 2004, 08:21 PM
I currently have a PC and want to buy a dual 1.8 G5. If I buy a KVM switch, I would be able to use them both on my Samsung LCD monitor right? How would this work in terms of the keyboard? Would I have to switch the keyboard back and forth whenever I want to use the PC or Mac? I'm confused here.

How much does a typical KVM switch normally cost?

Thanks.

iostream.h
Jul 6, 2004, 08:34 PM
WHATEVER YOU DO, don't get a Belkin SOHO USB KVM Switch. IT SUCKS. The keyboard won't work correctly, ect. I think the consensus around here is that the Dr. Bott one is the best.

robbieduncan
Jul 7, 2004, 04:24 AM
WHATEVER YOU DO, don't get a Belkin SOHO USB KVM Switch. IT SUCKS. The keyboard won't work correctly, ect. I think the consensus around here is that the Dr. Bott one is the best.

Interesting. I have a Belkin Pro2 KVM and the keyboard works perfectly!

Wilson
Jul 7, 2004, 05:09 PM
Thanks for the recommendations...I guess there isn't a way to use one keyboard to operate a mac and a pc.

robbieduncan
Jul 7, 2004, 05:21 PM
Thanks for the recommendations...I guess there isn't a way to use one keyboard to operate a mac and a pc.

Not at the same time! But I use my Pro2 to contol 2 PCs and my mac from 1 mouse, 1 keyboard and 1 monitor. It works fine. You just need to connect the mac with a USB cable not PS/2 ones.

fradac
Jul 7, 2004, 05:56 PM
it is quiet possible, i use it all the time. all you need to make sure is that you have a USB keyboard and mouse. i actually use a apple pro keyboard with a microsoft 3 button scrool mouse.

with both USB devices you can get a USB switch, i found this cheap one on newegg and it works wonderfully.


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-107-251&depa=0

if you have a ps2 mouse and keyboard they have models for that too, but make sure it has USB connector going to the host computer as the apple will not have ps2 connectors, one such switch is this one.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-107-250&depa=0


hope this helps.

Dr. Dastardly
Jul 7, 2004, 06:13 PM
Since we are on the topic of switches. What would be the best one to get if you had a PC and a G5 Mac with a say one of the new 20-23in apple display? With the highest res and performance? I was thinking about this setup and have a seperate Viewsonic monitor that works with my PC but would like to get the new Apple displays and ditch the Viewsonic.