Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Josh Kahane

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 29, 2006
Suffolk, UK
Hi

So I have bought my domain name and web space. I have tried setting up wordpress after being told it sounds like the best thing for me. It is, only my issue is that I can't manage to successfully edit the theme how I wish to.

So what is a good alternative to Wordpress that will let me edit the site more easily with a visual editor? I am no pro with coding/programming so I am far more suited to visual editing.

I have the website how I want it to look in Dreamweaver, however I can't get the database stuff setup which is why I need to use something like wordpress to give me a kick start.

I would appreciate any help, thanks.

Mugwumper

macrumors regular
Jan 19, 2008
Temecula, CA
Dumb question: why? ;^)

I'm not sure I understand your question. WordPress is for blog sites
(typically), but you mention you have a domain name and something
already done in Dreamweaver that you want to have WordPress look like?

My experience is that WordPress is fine for what it is: a tool to manage
blog posts. You can change its look, and you can add photos and such
to a post, as well as off-page links.

I've been working on some stuff for a realtor, and have a web site (with its
own unique URL) and a WordPress site (with a different URL that reflects
the name of the blog). The two link to each other, and depending on his
marketing, you'll go to either the blog or the website.

So maybe my question to you is: what are you trying to accomplish? Are
you looking to make the WordPress site your main web site? If so, as you've
discovered, it's not the same as a full-fledged web host site, so you can't do
all that you want.

Hope this helps . . .

Josh Kahane

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 29, 2006
Suffolk, UK
Sorry, thanks for the reply, but I probably didn't make myself very clear.