Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IvanB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 13, 2009
California
I'm new to Final Cut (Have the first version installed now) and I noticed I couldn't import most of my audio tracks that I previously used in iMovie due to format change.

What are the consistent formats that work with Final Cut? As I noticed it will let me import certain .mp4 tracks but not all of them and I don't know why that is? :confused:

Also I have a lot of video footage captured in 1080i wide screen in iMovie, but I can't fit 90minutes of HD footage onto one single sided DVD. Is there a way for me to still burn this using iMovie and iDVD without having to import into Final Cut and do a conversion? It seems like iMovie 6 is so much quicker for simple one track editing, as you don't have to render it after every little change....though I appreciate the more advanced capabilities offered by Final Cut for more advanced editing.

Thanks
Ivan

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
I'm new to Final Cut (Have the first version installed now) and I noticed I couldn't import most of my audio tracks that I previously used in iMovie due to format change.
Audio should be 16bit, 48k AIFF files.

What are the consistent formats that work with Final Cut? As I noticed it will let me import certain .mp4 tracks but not all of them and I don't know why that is? :confused:
AIC, ProRes, DVCPro HD, HDV, etc., are examples of HD codecs to use w/FCP.

Also I have a lot of video footage captured in 1080i wide screen in iMovie, but I can't fit 90minutes of HD footage onto one single sided DVD. Is there a way for me to still burn this using iMovie and iDVD without having to import into Final Cut and do a conversion?
Are you trying to make an SD-DVD that's playable on a TV, or are you trying to make a data DVD?