PDA

View Full Version : Contacts recently added to iPhone DELETED after syncing with MacBook Pro




Kevster89
Sep 16, 2009, 01:54 AM
Okay, this has happened a few times now an it's a huge pain in the arse.

After adding contacts directly to Address Book in my iPhone 3G and then syncing with my MacBook Pro, these recently added contacts are then deleted when syncing is complete. I can go back and add names into my iPhone for those numbers that I have had an SMS convo with, as it's not too hard to remember who I had a conversation with. However, for numbers that I added and did not text with it's obviously hard to remember the different numbers I added to my contacts.

The "Sync with Address Book" setting in my iTunes is turned on (box has check mark) so I have no idea why this is happening. However, contacts added to address book on my MBP do, the last time I checked when this problem ocurred, successfully transfer to my iPhone's address book.

I was once recommended to reset sync "history", (I believe was the term), in iSync on my computer and this seemed to work once but during the second most-recent occurrence of this problem this didn't seem to do the trick. I simply don't understand why this is happening when "Sync with Address Book" is clearly turned on in iTunes.

This is turning into a huge inconvenience when adding different and very important contact information into my phone. I suppose I could turn the setting to sync contacts off, but this would defeat one of my main reasons, like everyone else's, of purchasing an iPhone in the first place - the ease of backing up all important information in iTunes.

Any help with this matter would be highly appreciated. This recurring problem needs to stop immediately.

Thanks in advance to all of you knowledgeable Apple friends.

Regards,

Kevin :apple:



macbookhamburg
Sep 16, 2009, 02:16 AM
There is an option where you can check something like replace or delete information on iphone... this is when it syncs the other way around and replaces the info on your phone with the info on the mac... maybe you checked this box by accident ? itīs on the same page with the other sync settings

Kevster89
Sep 16, 2009, 12:30 PM
There is an option where you can check something like replace or delete information on iphone... this is when it syncs the other way around and replaces the info on your phone with the info on the mac... maybe you checked this box by accident ? itīs on the same page with the other sync settings

Thanks for the note. This setting is turned off. I've never actually turned it on. Anyone else able to help me out?

Kevster89
Sep 17, 2009, 12:51 AM
Thanks for the note. This setting is turned off. I've never actually turned it on. Anyone else able to help me out?

... anyone? :(:confused: