Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

2A Batterie

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 9, 2004
Out of a Suitcase, USA
I've never built a webpage before, and I know zilch about programming. I'm a musician who would like to learn how to build webpages for my various projects. I'm pretty quick to learn new material if I'm applying it, as I've got logic and pro tools down pretty quickly. What's the best way to go about learning how to create a real webpage (as oppossed to templates and generic fill in the blanks pages I've seen)? I'm assuming I should get macromedia. Are there any good reference books, webpages, materials, etc.? Do I need more than 2.5ram (dual2.0g5), or do I need a good graphics card? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

SilentPanda

Moderator emeritus
Oct 8, 2002
The Bamboo Forest
Your computer is way overkill for making a web page (although I guess it depends... you could put something crazy on your page)... so you're good in that department.

I found Macromedia Contribute to be quite easy for people to make basic, non-template web pages. It's almost like creating a document (with a little more pizzazz)... I'd suggest learning a bit with good ol' textedit or some such just to get the basics to learn the underneath part... it's really not that hard to do.

kgarner

macrumors 68000
Jan 28, 2004
Utah
Yeah the Macromedia stuff is probably the best if you don't want to learn to do it by hand, but I would reccomend learning to write them from scratch. At least for the basic stuff, then you can use the WYSIWYG stuff to throw some stuff together pretty quickly, so if you need to fix something, you at least understand most of what's going on in there. Lots of books and online courses to help you learn HTML.

pyrotoaster

macrumors 65816
Dec 28, 2002
Oak Park, IL