View Full Version : macmice good
comictimes
Jul 9, 2004, 12:58 AM
Ok, so I was reading the thread about bluetooth mice, and someone (i can't remember who) said the owner of the macmice.com store did a lot of scams. Is this true? does anyone have any experience with them? Because if they are good I might go for a mouse from them...
Sun Baked
Jul 9, 2004, 01:11 AM
The owner of jackwhispers.com adzooks.com and Jack Campbell had a running war going on.
Resulted in this...
http://www.macintouch.com/mactable.html#adzoox
They worked it out and Jack was supposed to watch his marketing fluff, and give more realistic info about where the products came from.
And erupted again a couple weeks ago when Jack started offering the old merchandise again, and made this site...
http://www.deskmac.com/
But the "Catch Me If You Can" Article from quite recently was taken down, don't know if they worked it out again, or not.
comictimes
Jul 9, 2004, 03:07 AM
The owner of jackwhispers.com adzooks.com and Jack Campbell had a running war going on.
Resulted in this...
http://www.macintouch.com/mactable.html#adzoox
They worked it out and Jack was supposed to watch his marketing fluff, and give more realistic info about where the products came from.
And erupted again a couple weeks ago when Jack started offering the old merchandise again, and made this site...
http://www.deskmac.com/
But the "Catch Me If You Can" Article from quite recently was taken down, don't know if they worked it out again, or not.
So basically these two guys have been having an argument, and some people say the owner of macmice is annoying and a bit of a scumball, but the products are real, and I won't get scammed if I try to buy them?
vga4life
Jul 9, 2004, 10:25 AM
macmice.com is fine. I ordered "The Mouse" recently and recieved it with no problems. I'm perfectly happy with it, though the driver software could be better - I ended up uninstalling the custom driver and now use it with the built-in scrollmouse support in Panther.
Bottom line, it's a fine product and i had no problem with the company.
I've been on the net long enough to recognize a stupid flamewar when I see one.
-vga4life
RugoseCone
Jul 9, 2004, 10:42 AM
Ok, so I was reading the thread about bluetooth mice, and someone (i can't remember who) said the owner of the macmice.com store did a lot of scams. Is this true? does anyone have any experience with them? Because if they are good I might go for a mouse from them...
The fellow at Jackwhispers.com was saying the mouse macmice offers is a more expensive knockoff of a product that CompUSA sells. I can't find his reference to it anymore and I don't see it on the CUSA site. But, you might want to head over to CompUSA if you have one nearby and look around...
Simon Liquid
Jul 9, 2004, 11:35 AM
If I remember correctly, one of the first incidents was when a designer furniture company caught him relabeling one of their tables and selling it as his own product. Not something that any brand-conscious company wants to see. I believe he backed down after legal action was threatened.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.