PDA

View Full Version : syncing movies to ipod touch - help please




ikbpod
Sep 19, 2009, 11:26 AM
OK, I use a PC but bought an ipod touch. I have the latest version of itunes and it is fighting me.

I have a video that I want to upload onto the ipod. In itunes, I click in the menu on the left on "Devices / My iPod" and then in the center of the screen I click on the "movies" tab. Lots and lots of videos show up there, but not the one in particular that I want to upload, even though it is in the same folder as all the other videos. So I click "add file to library" and then "add folder to library" and try directing itunes to the file / folder and click 'open'. Neither option makes it appear in the 'movies' tab.

Also, is there a way to change the view in the 'movies' tab? The only viewing option appears to be little thumbnails and that is inconvenient when you have several hundred videos. I also would love to be able to show / sort only those that I have checked. I have far too much content for my 32gb touch, so I have it where I select only those files that I want to sync.

Plus, I have tried syncing several formats of videos from my various digital cameras (mov, avi, wmv) and none of them sync. They all give an error that the video format can't play on my ipod.

Anyone have advice on how to tame itunes?

Thanks



OriginalFormula
Sep 19, 2009, 12:43 PM
Plus, I have tried syncing several formats of videos from my various digital cameras (mov, avi, wmv) and none of them sync. They all give an error that the video format can't play on my ipod.

Anyone have advice on how to tame itunes?

Thanks


iTunes will only accept .mp4 files. So try that.

ikbpod
Sep 19, 2009, 07:16 PM
Thanks for the help!

I solved the first problem. The file was corrupt! When I re-ripped it, it now shows up in my library now and will sync.

I still have questions about the other items though. The file types are straight from my digital cameras and I've tried various formats -- mov, avi, wma. Is there a way in itunes to do whatever conversion is necessary?

Thanks