PDA

View Full Version : Worklog: Hackintosh in Powermac G5 case Update: FINAL UPDATE!


Andrew Henry
Sep 22, 2009, 04:11 PM
So hopefully this is okay and it doesn't get deleted, I just started on the Powermac G5 case today, I will be updating this as I go along:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3511/3945900244_5374db9db3_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2543/3945900524_1046a6ccfc_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2660/3945900796_c22e818479_o.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3237/3945117787_ea439fe204_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2571/3945901502_c84540097d_o.jpg

I feel as tho the hard part is done, unfortunately this is as far as I can go, because the motherboard tray uses special motherboard standoffs that I unfortunately did not know until I broke a "normal" brass one off trying to screw it in, anyhow I have them on order from frozencpu.com overnight express so I can get working again tomorrow.

Let me know what you guys think!

EDIT:

This is what it's currently housed in:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2548/3945138415_cde13388d4_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2564/3945922028_22de37f22a_o.jpg

Nuttydev
Sep 22, 2009, 04:23 PM
Will be interested to see how this comes along; was thinking about doing this myself since I can't afford a mac pro :rolleyes:

nullx86
Sep 22, 2009, 04:27 PM
This will be interesting

Chrysaor
Sep 22, 2009, 04:52 PM
Your current case doesn't look that bad, except for the horrible leds.

Andrew Henry
Sep 22, 2009, 04:57 PM
Your current case doesn't look that bad, except for the horrible leds.

No it's not at all, but I'd really like a matching mate for my Mac Pro :D

Decrepit
Sep 22, 2009, 06:57 PM
How much prework did you have to do to that G5 chassis to get that tray in there? Or is that how it worked originally?

Sorry, I've never seen the inside of any Mac Pro in person. Just the pictures of the new one.

That's going to be a fun project though. I have a smaller version of the chassis that you're using for your current model. And I would seriously consider following your lead if you pull it off.

Andrew Henry
Sep 22, 2009, 07:07 PM
How much prework did you have to do to that G5 chassis to get that tray in there? Or is that how it worked originally?

Sorry, I've never seen the inside of any Mac Pro in person. Just the pictures of the new one.

That's going to be a fun project though. I have a smaller version of the chassis that you're using for your current model. And I would seriously consider following your lead if you pull it off.

I ordered an empty case, in order to put the motherboard tray in therei used a Dremel and completely cut out the back to fit it, I also had to modify the hdd / cdrom tray and the harddrive cage, it took me about 2-3 hours to do it. Once I get the motherboard standoffs, I'll be able to start putting everything inside it!

Decrepit
Sep 22, 2009, 07:21 PM
I ordered an empty case, in order to put the motherboard tray in therei used a Dremel and completely cut out the back to fit it, I also had to modify the hdd / cdrom tray and the harddrive cage, it took me about 2-3 hours to do it. Once I get the motherboard standoffs, I'll be able to start putting everything inside it!

I'd be curious to see a before/after set of shots showing how much dremel time it took. if you have it. :)

CGremby
Sep 23, 2009, 05:52 AM
Oh man! I've got a iMac and a gaming PC. My gaming PC is inside of a:
http://www.pcmegastore.nl/catalog/images/Coolermaster%20stacker%20830%20Evo%20Black.jpg

I so wanna buy a Mac Pro case and put all my hardware inside of it. Is it possible with my hardware? Or would I need to buy some special parts? Where to buy just the case?

MacFanUK
Sep 23, 2009, 06:25 AM
Oh man! I've got a iMac and a gaming PC. My gaming PC is inside of a:
http://www.pcmegastore.nl/catalog/images/Coolermaster%20stacker%20830%20Evo%20Black.jpg

I so wanna buy a Mac Pro case and put all my hardware inside of it. Is it possible with my hardware? Or would I need to buy some special parts? Where to buy just the case?

your best bet for buying just the case would be eBay. It will need modification for your parts but yes, it should be possible.

Andrew Henry
Sep 23, 2009, 07:53 AM
Oh man! I've got a iMac and a gaming PC. My gaming PC is inside of a:
http://www.pcmegastore.nl/catalog/images/Coolermaster%20stacker%20830%20Evo%20Black.jpg

I so wanna buy a Mac Pro case and put all my hardware inside of it. Is it possible with my hardware? Or would I need to buy some special parts? Where to buy just the case?

eBay is the best place but beware that a MP can only hold a mATX motherboard while a PM G5 can fit a fullsize ATX motherboard! Not to mention MP cases are way more expensive ($300+).

Andrew Henry
Sep 24, 2009, 02:23 AM
Just a quick update, the company I bought the motherboard standoffs from took it upon their will to ship Fedex 2Day rather than the Next Day Air I paid for, so tomorrow I should beable to start fitting all of the parts! I'm expecting to get most if not all of this done this week, I'm still trying to figure out how I'm going to install the front intake fan, and I also plan to reuse the harddrive fan, tho that requires some soldering, I'm also waiting for the front panel wire to get here so I can solder that into wires that my motherboard can accept!

More pictures tomorrow!

Andrew

Génicus
Sep 24, 2009, 09:12 AM
I turned my old PC in a PowerMac G5 with an Intel processor too!

Babooshka
Sep 24, 2009, 08:35 PM
Really interested in doing this myself.
Would be kick ass to claim I own a Mac Pro with nobody else really knowing better haha

Zaap
Sep 25, 2009, 12:41 AM
Really interested in doing this myself.
Would be kick ass to claim I own a Mac Pro with nobody else really knowing better haha
Well, except for the single drive bay being a dead giveaway for anyone that knows Macs fairly well.

Andrew Henry
Sep 25, 2009, 01:31 AM
So I've basically been working on this all day since I got the motherboard stand offs, it's currently up and running 10.5.8 with no problems at all here's some pictures from along the way:

Mounting the motherboard in place!

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2600/3951991987_55b55a25a3_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2514/3952769996_e0bfbf4133_o.jpg

Installed everything else:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2629/3951992239_2356959d65_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2423/3951992433_29798ee138_o.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3495/3952770432_c5a13ffe89_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2594/3952770652_97757e5d83_o.jpg

There's still a bit of work to be done, firstly you'll notice that there is no intake fan, well I had to put on it, unfortunately I'm not proud of how I did it so I didn't take a picture of it in, once I find a proper way to mount it I'll add a picture, secondly you'll notice that there are no wires going to the power button / front panel, I'm still waiting on the cable to arrive I bought one on eBay, once I get it I'll solder the proper wires to it to have a fully working front panel, other than that, it's pretty much done, I need to figure out a way to secure the power supply, I will most likely be using double sided tape for two reasons, one so I can remove it easily, and so I don't have to cut any more holes, and also it will act as anti vibration, currently the computer is just as quiet as the Mac Pro it's sitting next to, maybe just a tad louder, no big deal, overall I'm very happy with the progress!

Also forgot to mention one more thing, I need to put a fan up in the top to cool the WD Velociraptor up there, I don't think it will get that hot but irregardless the lower the temperature the longer it will last!

Let me know what you guys think!

Zaap
Sep 25, 2009, 03:16 AM
Nicely done! Looks great!

You're right- I would highly recommend a fan pulling air directly over the hard drive(s), especially at the top of the case where heat tends to collect.

One question: just curious, does that PSU provide for the full 8-pin CPU power connector, or just the 4-pin?

Andrew Henry
Sep 25, 2009, 03:17 AM
Nicely done! Looks great!

You're right- I would highly recommend a fan pulling air directly over the hard drive(s), especially at the top of the case where heat tends to collect.

One question: just curious, does that PSU provide for the full 8-pin CPU power connector, or just the 4-pin?

It has two 4-pin connectors, so yes it has the full 8-pin :D

Babooshka
Sep 25, 2009, 12:41 PM
Well, except for the single drive bay being a dead giveaway for anyone that knows Macs fairly well.
I know nobody who will be able to see that without a full course in Mac identification.

fireshot91
Sep 25, 2009, 03:18 PM
I'm not going to quote your entire post, so Yes, you OP.

Wouldn't it make more sense to put the CPU fan on the other side of the heatsink, and have it blow towards the back of the case?

That way, the intake fan on the front will blow cool air into the CPU fan, which will blow that cool air through the heatsink into the fan on the back, and it'll escape.


I think right now, it's either bringing the cold air in through the back (With the back fan blowing out), or making the heat from the heatsink escape.

I'd think that bringing cold air in would be cooler than blowing the hot air out?

nullx86
Sep 25, 2009, 04:04 PM
Well, except for the single drive bay being a dead giveaway for anyone that knows Macs fairly well.

yeah, 1 bay drive = Power Mac G5, 2 = Mac Pro. I wonder why Apple dropped it to 1 in the Power Mac G5, but in the G4 and Mac Pro models, they both had two.

@OP, looks good. You need some cable management! Can we get some pics facing towards the PSU & HDD Bay? I want to see how that turned out..

LouisBlack
Sep 25, 2009, 04:56 PM
yeah, 1 bay drive = Power Mac G5, 2 = Mac Pro. I wonder why Apple dropped it to 1 in the Power Mac G5, but in the G4 and Mac Pro models, they both had two.

It was purely a space issue. Have you seen the size of the two G5s and their cooling? They took up most of the case :-p

leekohler
Sep 25, 2009, 05:24 PM
Will be interested to see how this comes along; was thinking about doing this myself since I can't afford a mac pro :rolleyes:

Ditto. I refuse to pay what they're asking for a Mac Pro. Let us know how it goes!

nullx86
Sep 25, 2009, 06:46 PM
It was purely a space issue. Have you seen the size of the two G5s and their cooling? They took up most of the case :-p

trust me i know... why do you think they never made a G5 laptop?:p Also, i think its the quad (two dual core G5's) model that was watercooled, by Apple. Am I right?

Andrew Henry
Sep 25, 2009, 07:13 PM
I'm not going to quote your entire post, so Yes, you OP.

Wouldn't it make more sense to put the CPU fan on the other side of the heatsink, and have it blow towards the back of the case?

That way, the intake fan on the front will blow cool air into the CPU fan, which will blow that cool air through the heatsink into the fan on the back, and it'll escape.


I think right now, it's either bringing the cold air in through the back (With the back fan blowing out), or making the heat from the heatsink escape.

I'd think that bringing cold air in would be cooler than blowing the hot air out?

Negative, the fan in the back is blowing cool air into the case, I had to reverse the "normal" flow of things because where the PSU is sitting, it's blowing exhaust out the front, so I didn't want to have everything else going out the back, and the PSU blowing out the front, so I just switched it up from the norm.

Also, I have a *new* PSU coming in the mail, a modular one that is small enough to fit in the top where the harddrive rack currently is, so I may switch it up, I haven't decided yet, but either way, it's up and running and chugging along, I also have 8gb of 1066 ram coming a harddrive fan and some other stuff, I'll keep everyone posted!

Nykwil
Sep 25, 2009, 08:38 PM
might i suggest velcro instead of double sided tape.

they have some really heavy duty industrial strength stuff on amazon

Jackers008
Sep 28, 2009, 03:56 PM
Good work op. Few questions, where did you purchase the back panel to replace the standard powermac one? Is the cd drive thats installed one you put in yourself or is it the standard one? How easy was the whole process to complete? I'm considering doing the same as i have a powermac g5 sitting in my room whilst I use a custom built pc. Finally could you tell me what the spec is for your rig?

nullx86
Sep 28, 2009, 07:12 PM
Good work op. Few questions, where did you purchase the back panel to replace the standard powermac one? Is the cd drive thats installed one you put in yourself or is it the standard one? How easy was the whole process to complete? I'm considering doing the same as i have a powermac g5 sitting in my room whilst I use a custom built pc. Finally could you tell me what the spec is for your rig?

The backpiece is most likely a Lain-Li ATX motherboard tray (you can buy one off their site)... CD/DVD is obviously new, because Superdrive's used ATA/IDE in the G5 Models, SATA in the Mac Pro Intel models. Just by glance I would say that the mobo is a Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3r. Google that. (next time look at the pics ;)) I'll speak for the OP on the process of this: it involves a dremel. As long as you can cut on a line (kindergarten stuff right?), and use a drill, you should have no problem doing something like this. Just remember; measure twice, cut once.

kellen
Sep 28, 2009, 08:19 PM
Hmm, I found someone offering a broken 1.8 dual powermac g5 for 100 bucks.

Thinking about doing this.

Andrew Henry
Sep 28, 2009, 10:55 PM
Good work op. Few questions, where did you purchase the back panel to replace the standard powermac one? Is the cd drive thats installed one you put in yourself or is it the standard one? How easy was the whole process to complete? I'm considering doing the same as i have a powermac g5 sitting in my room whilst I use a custom built pc. Finally could you tell me what the spec is for your rig?

The motherboard tray is a Lian Li replacement for PC60 and other cases made by Lian Li, the cd drive is a new one, as it's a SATA drive, it's fairly simple all you have to do is remove the front plate and screw it in. I personally think it was pretty easy, I made a few mistakes, but thankfully they didn't really show through on the finished project.

Specs:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (the Q9550 is in the mail as we speak)
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
4gb DDR2 800mhz ram (8gb DDR2 1066 also in the mail)
XFX Radeon 4870 1gb
Firewire 800/400 PCI-E card
Realtek 10/100/1000 nic
Thermaltake 430w PSU (Silverstone 600w modular PSU is in the mail)
EFI-X module (I could have used Boot123 etc and I know that EFI-X is basically such, but it makes it WAY easier so regardless of what they've done, it works great)

That's really it man, it's an awesome setup for <$600 (not including the stuff in the mail)

EFI-X works so great that I'm thinking about selling my Mac Pro and building an equally powerful machine for way less money!


Hmm, I found someone offering a broken 1.8 dual powermac g5 for 100 bucks.

Thinking about doing this.

You should, it's great! It looks awesome sitting across from my MP, without really inspecting it you'd never know the difference to be honest.

nullx86
Sep 28, 2009, 11:03 PM
The motherboard tray is a Lian Li replacement for PC60 and other cases made by Lian Li, the cd drive is a new one, as it's a SATA drive, it's fairly simple all you have to do is remove the front plate and screw it in. I personally think it was pretty easy, I made a few mistakes, but thankfully they didn't really show through on the finished project.

Specs:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (the Q9550 is in the mail as we speak)
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
4gb DDR2 800mhz ram (8gb DDR2 1066 also in the mail)
XFX Radeon 4870 1gb
Firewire 800/400 PCI-E card
Realtek 10/100/1000 nic
Thermaltake 430w PSU (Silverstone 600w modular PSU is in the mail)
EFI-X module (I could have used Boot123 etc and I know that EFI-X is basically such, but it makes it WAY easier so regardless of what they've done, it works great)

That's really it man, it's an awesome setup for <$600 (not including the stuff in the mail)

EFI-X works so great that I'm thinking about selling my Mac Pro and building an equally powerful machine for way less money!




You should, it's great! It looks awesome sitting across from my MP, without really inspecting it you'd never know the difference to be honest.

ha I was right!

SomeSwede
Sep 30, 2009, 01:28 PM
Really nice work, but the loosely hanging cables are really ugly and will probably raise the noise level. It is however nice to see people reusing old Macs to something useful. And the G5 case is still better looking than most PC cases out there.

Some guy in Sweden did a similar mod, although not a Hackintosh: http://www.sweclockers.com/album/?id=964

Andrew Henry
Sep 30, 2009, 04:11 PM
Really nice work, but the loosely hanging cables are really ugly and will probably raise the noise level. It is however nice to see people reusing old Macs to something useful. And the G5 case is still better looking than most PC cases out there.

Some guy in Sweden did a similar mod, although not a Hackintosh: http://www.sweclockers.com/album/?id=964

The cable management has since improved, those pictures were immediately after I fitted everything into the case, now everything has a zip tie or a place to be, plus my module PSU will be here tomorrow.

Andrew

Andrew Henry
Oct 2, 2009, 02:37 PM
Well I received my 8gb of RAM in the mail, as well as a new Silverstone Modular PSU and a couple others things, so I decided to post some new pictures:

Whew, cable management!

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2470/3975341326_29e7972e61_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2625/3975341526_941a8f8e02_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2499/3975341820_325280fd76_o.jpg

I fabricated a hard drive cooler for the WD Velociraptor, as it was getting pretty warm, this works out nicely and keeps it VERY cool:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2524/3974577223_2bc0730f6a_o.jpg

hatehereyes
Oct 2, 2009, 03:37 PM
Wow that's nice.

Andrew Henry
Oct 2, 2009, 03:44 PM
Wow that's nice.

Just wait until I install the dual Intel X25m SSDs with the hardware Raid controller!

Thank you for your comments though, I've been working pretty hard on this, I'm thinking about adding my water cooling setup that's just sitting in my closet that I paid $300 for!

gilkisson
Oct 2, 2009, 03:56 PM
This looks like not only the sweetest hackintosh I've ever seen, but perhaps the one machine to covet/drool over. Very well done.

Your biggest problem now is, you will *never* be able to part with this baby. EvEr.

Pixellated
Oct 2, 2009, 04:17 PM
You've made this machine much cleaner than most other G5/MP hackintosh mods, inside and out. (You have the patience of a saint when it comes to cable managing :))

cantthinkofone
Oct 2, 2009, 04:24 PM
Thats the exact mobo i was going to use for my hackintosh :p

How do you like it? I've never build a knock off before.

Andrew Henry
Oct 2, 2009, 05:56 PM
Thank you everyone for your warm comments, I'm glad that my work is appreciated, I just popped in the Intel C2Q Q9550 and let me tell you it's like night and day compared to the Q8200 I had in there, but I digress there's still a lot of work to be done!



Thats the exact mobo i was going to use for my hackintosh :p

How do you like it? I've never build a knock off before.

I LOVE it, it's very stable and has everything I need, paired with an EFI-X module I feel as tho I'm using an actual Mac, nothing compares! If you're going to build one, get it! My next addition will be a EVGA GTX 285 :D

zw-gator
Oct 3, 2009, 08:00 AM
Can we get a pic with the I/O ports?

nullx86
Oct 3, 2009, 09:00 AM
Can we get a pic with the I/O ports?
I just say get pics of any angle of the machine

Andrew Henry
Oct 3, 2009, 02:11 PM
Can we get a pic with the I/O ports?

I just say get pics of any angle of the machine

I'll take more pictures later tonight, I am going to be on my way to pick up the GTX 285 I bought! :D

Andrew

Andrew Henry
Oct 6, 2009, 12:32 PM
This may be the last update to this because I feel as I've mostly completed the computer how I want it, I added my SSDs, RocketRaid card, Dual 120mm fans, and a couple other things, theres more stuff, so more wires, so unfortunately it didn't turn out the BEST but I did what I could and I'm constantly thinking of ways to hide more wires! So here we go:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2511/3987832964_f87e1486b3_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2484/3987079109_2f7a697a1a_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2478/3987079353_6ddf9043cb_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2518/3987079591_d8c1a62a33_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2500/3987834004_5ed2b494d2_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2434/3987080117_c43827533b_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2422/3987080353_67521a131f_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2629/3987080595_608ffd7562_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2436/3987834972_0ab5f101d0_o.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2553/3987081067_0342630965_o.jpg

Final Specs:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
EVGA GTX 285 1gb
8gb 1066 Ram
300gb WD Velociraptor
2 x 80gb Intel SSDs via RocketRaid Raid 0
GA-EP45-UD3R Motherboard
EFI-X v1.1 Module


I appreciate everyone's supports up until this point! Hopefully you enjoyed the ride as much as I did, now it's time to start using it! :)

Thanks again,
Andrew

Bennieboy©
Oct 6, 2009, 03:11 PM
that looks amazing, any idea on the final costs?

jonahlee
Oct 12, 2009, 05:29 PM
Damn, that is a sweet machine! Very cool.

My G5 just passed away, and I got a new MacPro, but i still have the G5 case, and was trying to figure out what to do with it. This might be an option.

I wanted to try and make a external Raid 5, but can't seem to find the electronics for a hardware raid controller on it's own, that would connect to the computer via SATA.

Sweetfeld28
Apr 6, 2010, 06:47 PM
I feel as tho the hard part is done, unfortunately this is as far as I can go, because the motherboard tray uses special motherboard standoffs that I unfortunately did not know until I broke a "normal" brass one off trying to screw it in, anyhow I have them on order from frozencpu.com overnight express so I can get working again tomorrow.




Andrew,

I know this thread might be old, but i am trying to do the same case mod myself. I however, am just trying to figure this modding stuff out. I have all the parts i need to assemble the case, but need to start the modding now.


I recently ordered the same Lian Li motherboard tray, and I too forgot to order the stand off screws. I just wanted to try and get some input from you... I was wondering do I need to order standoffs for the back wall of the case, and then standoffs for the tray to motherboard?


Also, did you figure out the pinouts for the front power switch, and ports? This is going to be my next major hurdle. One thing that i did find out doing all my research is that you can use the cabling from the hard drives and fans on top, you just need to make a 8 pin to 4 pin molex adapter, so i currently have one on order [from outletpc.com].


Any advice would be appreciated.

ethical
Apr 6, 2010, 07:03 PM
snip

you might be better off sending him a PM, in case he doesn't see this thread.

Sweetfeld28
Apr 6, 2010, 07:10 PM
Thanks for the heads up, I will do that as well.

mannhands
Oct 30, 2010, 04:23 PM
Has anyone found any alternative replacement cases/motherboard trays I could use? The Lian Li pc60 replacement seems to be sold out everywhere I look.

Sweetfeld, I'm also interested to know what you figured out about the standoffs. You got pictures of your setup? It could really help me decide what to do with mine. I'd rather not do this approach with the plastic: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=187553

vastoholic
Oct 30, 2010, 06:44 PM
I wanted to do this with a gaming PC as well. I just found a G5 case on ebay for $87 shipped. Bought it as soon as I saw it. I'm probably not going to be quite this creative. I only plan on having a single low capacity SSD since it will be for gaming only with a select few Call of Duty and MotoGP games. Thanks for resurrecting this thread and giving me some inspiration.

Sweetfeld28
Oct 31, 2010, 08:33 AM
Has anyone found any alternative replacement cases/motherboard trays I could use? The Lian Li pc60 replacement seems to be sold out everywhere I look.

Sweetfeld, I'm also interested to know what you figured out about the standoffs. You got pictures of your setup? It could really help me decide what to do with mine. I'd rather not do this approach with the plastic: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=187553

@Mannhands

This is the website i ordered my motherboard tray from. PerformancePCs.com (http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&manufacturers_id=37&products_id=3387) Order the screws as well since Lian Li, uses their own screw size which is smaller than apples screws.

I don't have any pictures of my case as I have sold it to a friend. But what i ended up doing was adhering the new tray to the stock standoffs. That way, you could have your cables and cords run behind the motherboard to keep it kind of clean.

I found another person who happened to do a great job on his G5 mod, maybe some of you guys/girls have already seen it, but i like how this guy did the back side of his tower: Link (http://hardforum.com:80/showthread.php?t=1074089&pp=20&page=7)

I think this person on Insanelymac (http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=170112&mode=linear), might have used the same motherboard tray, but I'm not positive.

mannhands
Nov 1, 2010, 04:46 PM
ha! Fantastic. I love all the unique designs.

Since the one you used wasn't in stock, I've ordered this: http://www.mountainmods.com/mountain-mods-modular-removable-motherboard-tray-p-56.html

Think it'll work?

I don't love the idea of cutting the back of the G5, but in the end I think it will be neater and sturdier. My current problem is trying to fit this gigantic 850w Antec power supply in. I'd definitely rather over power than under power things like fans, but I'm very new to this, so I don't know exactly.

I have this cooling sysetm: http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Cooling-High-performance-Cooler-CWCH50-1/dp/B002QG2H7K/ref=wl_it_dp_v?ie=UTF8&coliid=I3JXL8P20MNV01&colid=247SZKO9DYV3X

Wondering how many fans I'll need. Hoping to re-use some from the original G5 to either intake from the front or output the hot air. Do I need a fan directly on the radiator? Did you find that the PSU blowing hot air out the front was cooler than the alternative? This is something I really need to explore so I don't fry my i7 processor.