Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mysterytramp

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 17, 2008
Maryland
Background story.

(Apologies in advance for such a long post.)

I’m not getting my head around the net neutrality issue. For starters, I’m not sure I understand the objection to regulation.

OK, sure, big companies don’t want government regulation. I get that part. But it’s easy to conceive why regulation might be a good thing and then I get confused.

So let’s say regulation gets shot down, it won’t be long before some big, greedy company is going to use its big pipe to the Internet to force some small company into bankruptcy, and Big Company will then be able to buy up Little Company’s intellectual property at a fire sale. For reference, check the Microsoft antitrust action.

Then, let’s say I’m a little developer who has created a lousy product that needs easy, speedy access to the Internet. When my product stinks, I’ll find a lawyer who says he can make me a bundle of money by telling a jury that the reason I’m not rich is because Big Company is using the same tricks on me that it used on Little Company. No real basis in fact, but certainly a pain for Big Company, so it decides to settle. Now a new genre is created in the legal community.

Let’s say an Internet company actually cares about its customers, and it wants to help the majority by keeping a minority from spending too much time using bandwidth-hogging sites. Except, most of those sites are from the top content providers -- TV networks -- who just about all have some relationship with all the big Internet companies.