Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

khufucius

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 24, 2009
I've got an interesting situation on my hands. This is version 1,1 of the white Macbook (2006, I believe).

Backstory/experiences so far:

I've been using Macs since 1990, and this is the first one I bought used. Might have been a mistake.

Everything was fine for a few months, until one day the computer was nonresponsive. No chime, no lights, nothing. The charge light on the magnetic power cable would light up and change from orange/green on a full charge, but that was it. The computer behaved as if the battery had simply been removed.

Every time I walked by the laptop after that, I'd try the power button, just to see if it would turn on. A day or two later, it did. The little Macbook ran like nothing had ever been wrong.

A week later, something similar happened. This time, I heard the disk spin up, saw the power light come on, but never got to a chime. Later, an Apple Genius-bar-person would tell me that this means the initial system check failed. After turning it on, it acted like I had put it into hibernate. The only way to turn it off was to force-shutdown or let the battery die.

I sent it in to AppleCare, and they responded by telling me there was significant liquid damage which voided my warranty. Dead computer. I was able to get into the HD through firewire, saving my data.

That was a year ago.

A few weeks ago, I saw an ad for someone who fixes liquid spill apple laptops. He told me that often, the small power nodes (?) on the motherboard short out, even though the board itself is fine. He replaced these, I paid him happily, and two days ago I had my little Macbook back.