Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

is2myMBA

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2009
You've heard it once, probably a thousand times but sorry you'll hear it again.
I GOT MY MBA! and most importantly i love it. I'm indeed a child with his new toy. I've been admiring it all day, glazing upon it as i walk in and out of my room, embracing it within my arms grasping to feel its featherweight attributes. Ok. haha i'll stop. But the little thing is so amazing, so portable! Though I'm a first year uni student and my bank account now has almost nothing in it, it was well spent. I got the bottom line 1.6Ghz 2GB, 120 HD, nevertheless its very nice.

One question for you folks though, i went over to my friends place the other day and he installed various programs and one of them was 'fan control'. Is there a way i may utilize this software to maximise the fan's potential in regards to noise minimising etc?

Thanks in advance!

alphaod

macrumors Core
Feb 9, 2008
NYC
Well 'Fan Control' lets you set the minimum fan speeds of your computer in order to control the temperature; as the fan spins faster, the noise level will increase. You can't drop the fan speed below certain thresholds.

Therefore, you can't really control noise levels beyond the defaults of the computer. If you want a computer that isn't noisy, you pretty much just need to cool off the computer.

musicpenguy

macrumors 68000
Oct 29, 2006
Here is what I have done -

Install SMCFanControl

Then run the attached script by simply putting it on your desktop and double clicking on it and hit continue - this will when you want to turn down the fans - make the maximum speed 4000RPMs - it will resume normal speeds after sleeping or things such as that. It has worked like a charm for me!

Hope this helps
(SMCFanControl does not need to be running for this to work but must be installed)

Attachments

• MBA Fan Control.zip