Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Maccin475

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 27, 2009
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to this forum and i was a PC person till a few months ago. After my 3rd laptop died on me, i've decided not to spend anymore money trying to fix my crappy laptops and have finally decided to make a switch to a Macbook. I am currently a college student and i've heard that students get a discount on select products through the Apple Store. If they do then is the discount applicable on Macbooks? If yes, then how much is the discount?

Thanks

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
Yes, there is a student discount for Macs. For the base white MacBook it is $50 and for the base MacBook Pro 13" it is $100 for the discount. In addition to having a discount on all the Built To Order upgrades that you add on.

CorvusCamenarum

macrumors 65816
Dec 16, 2004
Birmingham, AL
While there is a education discount, it's been my experience that it's not really worth it. If you're outside the US I can't speak to that point, but in the US, Apple charges sales tax regardless of your location. Depending on the tax in your area, it can be more advantageous to purchase from a reseller at full price and avoid paying sales tax.

zenoran

macrumors regular
Aug 19, 2009
While there is a education discount, it's been my experience that it's not really worth it. If you're outside the US I can't speak to that point, but in the US, Apple charges sales tax regardless of your location. Depending on the tax in your area, it can be more advantageous to purchase from a reseller at full price and avoid paying sales tax.

technically you're supposed to pay taxes on internet sales when you file your taxes every year :)

londonmystery

macrumors 6502
Jun 1, 2009
London, UK
In the UK